RSS

Dear Icelandic Volcano,

25 May

Please stop spewing out volcanic ash. I know it’s a bit like asking Mathew Mcconaughey to stop taking his shirt off, but I beg you to just *try*. I haven’t seen my family in 3 years, and I’d really like to see my mother before she gets too old for me to recognise. I mean, you already threw up all over us last year for crying out loud! How much ash can one little hole-in-the-ground produce?!!?!?! Never mind, forget I asked; I don’t really want to know. I’ve got nothing against Iceland, really, even if you did produce Bjork and inflict that madness on the rest of us…but this volcano business is enough to make me think really poorly of Iceland. And don’t start whining about forcesย  of nature and give me this “it’s not our fault” nonsense…put a cork in it. If my flight, which is in less than 2 weeks, gets cancelled, you’ll be receiving a very strongly worded letter of complaint from me. I mean it. I’ll be using words like “inexcusable” and “furious” and “boycott everything from Iceland,” (which may be quite a short list of items, but that’s *not* the point.) If you can’t stop all the spewing ash, then you’d better gather up all your electric fans or wind turbines or whatever and start fanning it towards Greenland or something. Nobody lives in Greenland, anyway…only vikings and the like, and they prefer to travel by boat. They won’t mind.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2011 in Family Life, Michelle

 

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Dear Icelandic Volcano,

  1. Neo

    May 25, 2011 at 10:39 am

    Instead of feeling defeated by the forces of nature, perhaps we can think of ways to use it to our advantage, eg turning it into a study topic for Esa? Given the numerous natural disasters this year (tsunami, volcanic eruption, tornadoes, earthquakes), I think the time is ripe for Tiger to do a study topic on ‘Disasters’!

    If all goes well, enjoy your visit home!

     
    • Michelle

      May 25, 2011 at 10:42 am

      Esa’s pretty fascinated with natural disasters. I was mostly joking, but will be very disappointed if I don’t get to go. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. Suji

    May 25, 2011 at 6:17 pm

    I agree with (and am still laughing over) every word. That’s the way to treat them! Are you coming to the US?! Oh my gosh, any chance of visiting CA? I’d love, love to catch up with you! Anyway have a safe trip and I really wish those crummy ash clouds blow over…err, I mean blow over to Greenland.

     
    • Michelle

      May 26, 2011 at 6:54 am

      Oh, how I wish I were, Suji. Too bad Ohio is so far away. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

       
  3. Sheila

    May 26, 2011 at 4:12 am

    LOL! If ONLY MM would stop taking off that shirt of his, I could probably deal with the dust in the air, but the two combined? Yegads. It’s impossible to think.

     
    • Michelle

      May 26, 2011 at 6:54 am

      Tell me about it…

       
  4. Michelle B

    May 26, 2011 at 8:26 am

    Where in Ohio will you be? I am going to visit my family in Ohio in two weeks, too! No volcanic ash in my direction…so far…

     
    • Michelle

      May 27, 2011 at 7:41 am

      Wow, what a coincidence. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll be in Mansfield; where will you be?

       
      • Michelle B

        May 27, 2011 at 7:59 pm

        We will be outside of Columbus in Pickerington. My sister went to college at Ashland University. That is pretty close to Mansfield, I think.

         
      • Michelle

        May 28, 2011 at 1:42 pm

        Yes, Ashland is about 20 minutes away, and Columbus is about an hour away. I’ll be arriving at Columbus airport. ๐Ÿ™‚ Have a great visit! ๐Ÿ™‚

         

Leave a comment