RSS

I Should Be Cleaning, But…

22 Nov

…I need a little break. (This post was written yesterday)

Speaking of breaks, we’re right in the middle of one. A nice, long one. Two whole weeks. Last week my husband was off, so that was taken up with a religious holiday and the busyness that only seems come about when husbands are at home. You know how it is; you don’t get a moment to yourself.

So, I’m supposed to be cleaning the house, as I do on Sundays, and especially this Sunday because the moment my husband leaves for work, my real holiday begins and I don’t want to spend it cleaning. I want the house spotless (which it isn’t), otherwise it’ll bug me and I’ll squander my precious time cleaning (which I have been).

What have we been up to lately?

We’re cruising along nicely. To be honest, there just isn’t much to mention that’s interesting. We’ve not changed curricula, we’ve not changed methods, I’ve not discovered some great new resource or book…

Things have really changed from last year in that sense. We’ve settled down, found our groove.

Last year we were quite focused on History and Reading. This year math and writing (as in usage, not handwriting) are taking centre stage. Having more math facts memorised has made math easier and more enjoyable for Esa. He loves being able to go to a shop and see something for £6 and something for £4 and know straight away that it makes £10, and no, he doesn’t quite have enough money to buy both things. Our chanting method has worked a treat and he enjoys practising his facts. This is what I love so much about homeschooling: we do what works for us; we’re not stuck with a book or way of doing things that makes learning a chore, or worse, impossible.

Confession Time

Okay, I have ordered a new Latin curriculum. (Yes, another one…but the other 2 will get used next year). I’ve heard a lot of good things about Song School Latin. Initially, I dismissed it because I’m not a fan of sing-song type…things, but after having a look at it I think it just might work for us. Esa learns really well with chanting and the workbook sections look fun. Best of all, it seems easy to implement with no prep work and shouldn’t take long. I’ve ordered just the text which comes with the CD from Book Depository with 10% off, so it was only about £12. I’ll comment  more once it arrives and we give it a try.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 22, 2010 in Family Life, Latin, Second Grade, Time off

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “I Should Be Cleaning, But…

  1. Neo

    November 22, 2010 at 6:33 pm

    I’ve heard good things about Song School Latin so I’ll be interested to see your feedback on that.

    Sunday is my cleaning day too. 🙂 But I try to do a bit in each room each day so not all of Sunday is spent cleaning.

     
    • whimsyway

      November 23, 2010 at 6:42 am

      “I try to do a bit in each room each day…”

      Me, too…but somehow I *still* seem to spend most of Sunday scrubbing and hoovering. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
