RSS

I’ve Been Tagged…

27 Oct

…by Suji.

The rules of the game state that I’m to write a post answering the 5 questions she’s set for me and create 5 questions for 5 other bloggers to answer.

Here are Suji’s questions for me:

1. If you had one super power to wish for (X-ray vision, invisibility etc.), what would it be and why?

I’d like to be able to fly (who wouldn’t?) 🙂 I’d love to be able to fly to America to visit my family whenever I wanted, visit some of my blogging friends, meet a few people I’ve always wanted to meet, and see certain sights.

2. What is the one book, resource or homeschool curriculum that you feel you will not sell or give away, and maybe even want to save for the grandkids?

Hmmm…this was a tough one to answer. I love lots of our books and resources, but none of them, so far, is so special that I’d keep hold of it forever. I think that will change as we go. But there is one book that I’ve used for myself to learn how to draw and when Esa’s older I’ll teach him using the methods. It’s called The New Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain and it’s got to be the best book for teens and adults who want to learn to draw, and I’d never part with it. (You can ignore the right side/left side brain theories if you like; the book will still teach you to draw.)

3. If you had a chance to learn one European or Asian language, which one will it be and why?

Arabic. Partly for religious reasons and also because I love it. I can read Arabic, meaning you could place an Arabic sentence in front of me and I could pronounce the words (mostly), but I’d have no idea what they mean.

4. When time is short and/ or when chaos reigns in your home, what is the one task, family routine or household chore you prioritize?

This is a difficult one to answer, too, because there isn’t one thing that takes priority. Every chaotic situation is different, so I assess the situation and decide what needs the most attention. Could we all do with a nice, home-cooked meal at the expense of no clean socks? Or would my time best be spent mopping the cat’s muddy paw prints off the kitchen floor? Or should we abandon chores all together and spend some quality time together? In short, the squeaky wheel gets the oil.

5. What does your dream learning environment (study/ den/ school room/ kitchen/ outdoor space) look like? If you’ve found something similar online, post a link! If you have broken the bank remodelling your home to achieve it (lucky you!), post a photo!

I would love to have a school room and an art room. My school room would have a table with a few chairs and a small sofa, tons of book shelves, a long worktop with sink and cupboards above and below, a large world map on the wall, a dry erase board on the wall, a stereo and computer desk. It would be light, cosy, and free from fluorescent lighting. I love the one at Angie’s. Hey, that looks like my cat…

My art studio would be an addition to the house so that I could have windows on 3 sides. It would consist of a very large table with a small but comfortable swivel, armless chair. It would be mostly white, with wood floors, lots of windows providing a nice view, and maybe a set of French doors.  A chest, with several large, but shallow drawers would store my different papers. Here is a nice one that I found online.

Now it’s my turn to do some tagging (in no particular order).

Michelle from An Organised Mess

Sheila from Greenridge Chronicles (if you want to…I know you’ve already been tagged, but hey, my social circle is pretty small…)

Sara from Headbanger Homeschool

Neo from Our Learning Journey

Angie from Satori Smiles

Here are my questions for my victims blogging friends, if they want to play:

1) What is your favourite book of all time?

2) What is your idea of the perfect day?

3) If you weren’t homeschooling, what sort of career would you have?

4) If you had the chance, what one famous person would you meet and why?

5) If you could possess one talent (singing, painting, writing, etc) and be truly proficient in it, what would it be?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 27, 2010 in Art, Blogging Fun, Meme, Michelle

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “I’ve Been Tagged…

  1. Suji

    October 27, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    Glorious photos…sigh…adding to my wishful thinking. Thanks for playing Michelle! 🙂

     
    • whimsyway

      October 27, 2010 at 8:57 pm

      You’re welcome; it was fun. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
