RSS

Blah

17 Sep

It’s been an odd first week. Esa developed a cold last weekend and I nearly postponed lessons for another week, but he seemed ok-ish on Monday, so we ploughed ahead, omitting a few things. As the week wore on, his health improved and we did more work each day.

All in all it went quite well. Esa seems to be handling the increased writing remarkably well; he even seems to be enjoying it. He’s not grumbling (yet) and even asked to do his spelling work one day.

So far, the curriculum I’m most impressed with is Writing with Ease. The workbook is fantastic and easy to use. The programme itself is so simple, yet effective. I really think Esa’s going to gain a lot from this.

Esa was disappointed with Story of the World this week, proclaiming that chapter 1 was “boring.” I think he was expecting something with castles in it, but it was merely a tie-in to Ancient times. I’d warned him of this ahead of time, but still he had a long face. Next week should be better.

Math went well. We hadn’t done much math for several months, but I think some things clicked into place during that hiatus. Well, I’m sure they did, because I saw Esa doing some calculations on his own, sporadically, during that break. We’re doing some review using Singapore practice workbooks and work that was once a challenge for him is now a breeze. I feel much better about letting our math work slide for so long. We’ll continue with the review for a while, then get back to Singapore 1B.

As for me, well, I’m just plain worn out. Ramadan was exhausting (even though I wasn’t fasting; I’m on a long-term antibiotic for a sty that won’t go away), but I found the routine tiring. Eid was last Friday, then we had to scoot down to Gloucester for a wedding, then head home Sunday, and then lessons on Monday. I’ve also not been sleeping well. Needless to say, my house was a wreck, I had piles of laundry, Esa wasn’t very well, and I was just plain beat. A week to recuperate would probably  have been a good idea, but I just couldn’t. I was determined to be disciplined and forge ahead. It just felt too indulgent to take more time off.

But by Thursday I was feeling very…blah. You know, the kind of blah where you sit, sigh, let your shoulders slump, and stare off into space, with eyes a little out of focus, mouth slack, and the mere thought of moving makes your hair hurt. I gathered what little strength I had left, heaved myself into an upright position, and shuffled to the bookshelf to get the books. Once we got going, I was ok; I even felt pretty good by midday because we’d accomplished so much and my house was beginning to look like the authorities just might remove the “condemned” sign from my door.

But the shuffling returned again in the evening and it continued on into Friday (today). I looked at our schedule this morning  and decided that spelling wasn’t the most important thing in the world. The sun was shining and I wanted to look at some books and baking equipment and a Zara gift certificate was burning a hole in my purse. I decided we should ditch lessons and go to town.

The retail therapy fresh air and sunshine perked me right up. And although I came home with aching legs and a headache, mentally I felt better. And we’ve got the weekend for more lollygagging. I plan to read (I’m reading Breaking Dawn [again], a few novels from the library [can’t remember the titles and I can’t be bothered to get up and have a look], and The Creative Habit by Twyla Tharp), do some drawing, baking, watch a movie, sleep, and on Sunday make sure my house is clean and tidy. I find my week runs a lot more smoothly if my house is in order at the beginning of the week; it’s much easier to maintain it than sort it on the weekdays.

And in 3 weeks, we will have a week off.

I feel ready for Monday.

Next week we’ll be adding First Language Lessons, the list of spelling words will increase, and we’ll have 2 pages of handwriting, instead of just 1. I wonder if Esa will still be enjoying the writing by the end of next week…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on September 17, 2010 in Michelle, Second Grade, Writing

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Blah

  1. Neo

    September 18, 2010 at 9:30 am

    Sounds like our week(s) here! Tiger has been ill too (still is) so not much gets done around here. Good luck for the coming weeks!

     
    • whimsyway

      September 18, 2010 at 1:28 pm

      Thanks, Neo; you too. 🙂

       
  2. Suji

    September 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm

    Tell me about the blah’s…having the same case here…my whole body is slacking and I’ve been feeling like taking afternoon naps…something I’ve been known to never do unless I am really ill. Sigh…I have a feeling I’m starting to have both summer and winter blah’s.

    Anyway, hope Esa keeps loving the writing and hope that sty goes away. I forgot to wish you Happy Eid too! Proof of how blah I’ve been feeling? 🙂

    Hugs!

     
    • whimsyway

      September 20, 2010 at 6:08 am

      Thanks, Suji. I hope your blah’s go away soon.

       
  3. Subadra

    September 24, 2010 at 3:11 am

    Hi There,
    I hope things are perking up for you and your family and you are out of feeling so ‘blah’…:)

    -Subadra

     
    • whimsyway

      September 24, 2010 at 5:41 am

      Thanks Subadra. Yes, we’re all doing better this week. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
