RSS

Back to School Excitement…(a little less than) One Week to Go!

06 Sep

(This post was written on Sunday.)

It’s a beautiful day today. We’ve had several days of lovely weather, in fact. (Sadly, the weather is now horrendous.) Although the near-constant rain sometimes gets me down, I must say that I don’t miss the scorching temperatures and stifling humidity of Ohio. I did my best to spend very little time outdoors during the summer because it was just so flippin’ hot and miserable. English summers are much more inviting (when it’s not raining). You can’t help but want to go out.

Esa and dh are outside  now, breaking in the new jet washer. Suddenly, everything is filthy and in dire need of being blasted with water: rubbish bins, car mats, empty plant pots, bike, windows, rocks, slugs, neighbours…

As I look out the window I can see Esa in his high-visibility jacket, huge sponge clutched in his little fist, wiping our car’s parcel shelf. I can tell he’s itching to finish the scrubbing so he can blast it with the jet washer.

I’ve not spent as much time outdoors this year as I did last year. Partly because we’ve had a pretty miserable summer, but even on nice days I’ve just not felt like going out. I do regret that. I did spend about 5 minutes outside today repotting an aloe plant. And lovely as it was, I just didn’t feel like staying out. I don’t know why, although I do know that when the cold weather hits I’ll be cursing my stupidity.

Dh has this whole week off. Normally I groan when he’s at home for a whole week and we have no real plans, but I’m looking forward to it this time. This is the last week of Ramadan, we have Eid this week and no lessons, so there are some preparations to be made. We’re planning to take Esa to a museum in Manchester to round off our prehistory studies and we need to do a little shopping. I’m hoping to get some time for my artwork, but best of all I’ll be finalising our preparations for our first week of second grade, which begins September 13th.

I’m so excited about school…but a little apprehensive. Ok, a lot apprehensive. I’m worried that I’ve gone overboard and all this work I have planned is just going to be stuff we have to get through. I’m afraid that there’s too much writing. I’m terrified that he’s going to hate it.  The fact that I go all googoo eyed when I steal glances at our books doesn’t mean Esa’s going to share my enthusiasm. And if he hates it, I’ll end up hating it, too.

Well, we’ll see how it goes and make adjustments as necessary. Nothing new there…

Here’s a partial list of what I need to do:

  • Hole-punch the SOTW 2 activity book student pages, skim through books and teacher’s pages for chapter 1
  • Read through the Getty-Dubay Italic Handwriting teacher’s manual for books B & C
  • Read through our first Minimus Latin lesson and make notes, photocopy worksheets, etc.
  • Remove cat from stack of papers
  • Get out the delicious Writing with Ease workbook 2 and read through the first lesson, tear out student pages and hole-punch
  • Prepare paper for Sequential Spelling lessons (Use student writing paper I already have? Or make paper using Italic Handwriting printables from manual?)
  • Reprint any pages cat has shredded
  • Get out Singapore Math books, which have been collecting dust and select review pages/new material to cover the first week. Math drill? Math stories to read? Math games?
  • Read through next science lesson, take notes, gather any materials & books we’ll need
  • Brush punch-outs from cat’s fur
  • Choose phonics lessons from The Ordinary Parent’s Guide
  • Look through web links for any relevant websites, book recommendations, activities, etc.
  • Make note to send cat outside the next time I need to do any planning

That ought to keep me busy for a day or two.

 

Tags: , , , ,

4 responses to “Back to School Excitement…(a little less than) One Week to Go!

  1. Neo

    September 7, 2010 at 7:27 am

    Sounds like a busy week! I share your anticipation, excitement and apprehension about the new academic term/year as well. Probably most homeschool mums feel the same at the start of a term.

    I too, have a whole list of items in my plan, and am also wondering whether Tiger will go for it all (probably not). Being flexible is important, but I still love my plans! 🙂

     
  2. Michelle

    September 8, 2010 at 7:32 am

    I know how you feel about plans just feeling like stuff you have to get through. I always have to work not to over schedule our days or we end up feeling like we are rushing to get everything done and that is no fun.

     
  3. Sheila

    September 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    I just got in from my poor poor tomato garden. They look – there’s no other word for them – tragic. I didn’t stake them properly, the weather was crap, the slugs were prolific, and now I’m feeling like a really BAD tomato plant owner. I let them LANGUISH.

    This was a bad summer here as well. The almanac said it would be but I didn’t believe it.

     
    • whimsyway

      September 10, 2010 at 6:44 am

      Don’t feel bad…my tomatoes never got past the little hard green golf-ball stage, and I haven’t staked mine, either. A poor year for gardening all ’round, me thinks.

       

Leave a Reply

 
