RSS

Twaddle I’m Reading

05 Aug

I’ve been reading a lot of fiction lately. I’m not the world’s fastest reader…well, I’m not slow, but I just don’t have as much time as I’d like to read. So for me to read 3 books in 2 weeks (one of which was, like, 700+ pages) is a lot. So, what’s captured possessed me so?

I can’t believe I’m admitting this, but here goes…

Twilight. (I’m cringing and running away now.)

“What?!” I can hear you exclaiming, “That teenage vampire book?”

Yup. Yes, it’s twaddle. Yes, it’s for teenagers. Yes, it sends a horrible message to teenaged girls. But I can’t help it; I’m hooked.

I can relate somewhat to the clumsy, bookish, and self-conscious Bella. And Edward…well, apart from being a vampire, he’s every girl’s dream. But he’s a “vegetarian” vampire and well-behaved (most of the time), so it’s ok (chuckle).

Mostly, it’s a love story and the eternal struggle between good and evil. But no love story has ever touched me as much as this one has. The love between these two is like no other; I’ve never been so convinced that no two people have ever loved as strongly as they do. I’ve never seen love painted in this way and so completely before. You can feel the chemistry, the intensity, and how absorbed by each other they are.

WARNING!

I didn’t want any spoilers in this post, but I’ve realised I’m going to have to include some, so if you don’t want know what happens in the books, skip down to the ***.

The second book in the series is called New Moon. I couldn’t read this one. I found it very upsetting. I know why Edward goes away, I knew he was lying, and I knew he’d come back, but I just couldn’t stand Bella’s pain. And I don’t like Jacob. So, I cheated and watched the movie.

The third book is Eclipse. This one was great, although again, I don’t like the relationship between Bella and Jacob. My memories of this one are hazy, but I know I devoured it in 2 days. I cannot wait for the movie to come out on DVD.

The fourth and final book, Breaking Dawn is, well, creepy. Really creepy (and more for adults than teenagers). Although I couldn’t put it down, there was a lot about the story that I didn’t like. I began to like Jacob more, though, and it has a nice ending. What disappointed me, in part, was that it wasn’t so much about Bella and Edward’s love. In some ways, they were almost like an old married couple.Ā  And the baby thing…nothing kills a romance story like pregnancy, in my opinion. I did, however, enjoy Bella’s conversion into a vampire. I like her better as a vampire; it suits her.

***I flew through these books so quickly that once I’ve read one or two other things I’m going to read them again (including New Moon).

I know, I’m so sad…

If you’re a fan of Twilight, you might be interested to know that there’s more to the story than just those 4 books. There’s a new book by Stephenie Meyer called The Short Second Life of Bree Tanner: An Eclipse Novella.

AND…Stephenie Meyer had started a new book a while back called Midnight Sun. It was Twilight told from Edward’s point of view. Sadly, part of the rough draft was leaked online, so Ms. Meyer has made it available for all to read. After that incident she felt she couldn’t finish the book, but she hasn’t ruled out finishing it one day. It’s available here: http://www.stepheniemeyer.com/pdf/midnightsun_partial_draft4.pdf

After that I’m going to have to read, like, 2 Jane Austens and a Charles Dickens in order to detox from all this literary indulgence.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2010 in Michelle

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Twaddle I’m Reading

  1. Michelle

    August 8, 2010 at 8:07 am

    I liked the Twilight books, too. I’m not a super crazy fan or anything like that, but I enjoyed the books. I was more of a fan of Jacob though. Perhaps because I prefer to be warm than to be cold šŸ™‚

     
    • whimsyway

      August 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm

      Phew! Glad to see I’m not the only 30-something homeschooling mother who liked them! šŸ™‚

       

Leave a Reply

 
