RSS

Wrapping Up First Grade

25 Jun

I didn’t realise what a big deal the end of the school year would be. Esa’s excited about finishing first grade and being ‘in second grade’ and I feel…lots of things. A sense of accomplishment, satisfaction, relief, sadness, excitement. I’m so proud of the hard work we’ve done, I’m relieved to be winding up phonics instruction, and I’m excited that we’ve (nearly) finished Story of the World volume 1 and will be moving on to volume 2.

When we first began homeschooling, I spent so much time planning first grade that I didn’t give second grade much thought. The thought of the end of first grade made me sad; I didn’t want it to end. That’s how enthusiastic I was. 🙂

But we’ve done so much, worked hard, played hard, and made the most of it, and I feel good about it. There’s very little that I would do differently. I do wish I’d had more patience at times, but I feel good that I made the changes that I did and did my best to make this a good experience for us both.

We now have 1 week of SOTW, FLL, and phonics instruction left. We will then spend several weeks doing pre-history and reviewing phonics. Esa knows most of the phonics rules, but he often forgets to apply them when he comes to a new word, so we need to work on that.

We have a lot to finish in Singapore math, but I’m not bothered about that. We’re taking our time and working through it at our own pace, taking detours when needed. Since easing off the curriculum his enjoyment of math has returned and I can see that he’s getting many of the concepts that we worked on.

Esa needs to work on addition and subtraction facts, so I bought Snap-It-Up; a fun card game that drills math facts. He also needed to work on patterns, so I set up some patterns for him to work out and finish:

These were challenging for him (not made any easier by the busy carpet beneath), and even though he didn’t always get it right, he began to see how to work it out. He just didn’t understand before that the pattern repeated.

During our summber break, we will continue with/do:

  • BFSU
  • Reading practice
  • Pre-History
  • Math: stories, activities, facts
  • Art (self-initiated)

We will have a break from:

  • Grammar
  • Handwriting
  • SOTW
  • Artistic Pursuits
  • Artist study
  • Composer study

I’ll be posting about our second grade curricula, which I’m quite excited about, soon.

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Wrapping Up First Grade

  1. Suji

    June 25, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    Congratulations Michelle! Don’t be sad, dear friend 🙂 The journey and adventures (and challenges) will continue will they not? Looking forward to reading your plans for second grade. And enjoy your lighter schedule too!

    Hugs!

     
    • whimsyway

      June 26, 2010 at 5:49 am

      You’re right, Suji. thanks. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
