RSS

Toes in the Sand

15 Jun

The weekend before last we went to Formby Beach. Unfortunately, the sat nav took us the long way and it took twice as long to get there as it should. And then my husband got pulled over for suspicion of drunk driving. Ok, not really, I’m joking. They were stopping people at random to make sure they hadn’t been drinking. This was a good opportunity for us to ask for directions. My husband is one of the few men who don’t have a problem asking for directions…but only as a last resort.

We couldn’t find the car park, so we parked along a road and had to walk it a bit. But it was worth it. Here’s why:

Nothing but this…

And this…

And then…

After taking fifty-million photos of this stunning poppy, we continued on our way.

At last…

Father and son built sandcastles…

While I sat, with my toes in the sand, taking in the view, the salty sea air, sketching and dreaming.

 

Tags: , , ,

5 responses to “Toes in the Sand

  1. Subadra

    June 15, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Sounds like a great day outdoors. Pics are wonderful! Beach looks serene and beautiful too. That sand ought to feel good:)
    -Subadra

     
    • whimsyway

      June 16, 2010 at 5:12 am

      Thanks, Ladies. I love poppies and I love painting them. My sketching didn’t go so well; I just can’t draw water and sand. 🙂 I’ve ordered a book that teaches you how to draw different textures, so I’m hoping that will help. The sand felt lovely. 🙂

       
  2. Suji

    June 15, 2010 at 5:28 pm

    Beautiful poppy! Can’t blame you for taking so many photos! Hope you had a good time sketching.

     
  3. Neo

    June 15, 2010 at 9:01 pm

    Beautiful poppies! We saw some on our walk last week, and I was absolutely excited about them so I understand why you have taken so many photos of them. They’re worth painting.

     
  4. Kat

    June 19, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    Looked like a great day. That poppy was breathtaking.

     

Leave a Reply

 
