RSS

What Have I Done to the Poor Boy?

09 Jun

I heard something yesterday that stopped me in my tracks.

I’d put on some Mozart during our art lesson, and as often happens, left it playing after we’d finished since we both enjoy it so much. Esa was doing a puzzle (I think) and I went upstairs to hang up some wet clothes to dry.

Now, some classical pieces are operas, or set to operas, or part of operas, or whatever. We often skip over the ‘songs with singing’ because they’re often not to our taste. But this has been happening less and less lately, more out ofย  can’t-be-bothered-ness than anything.

Whilst hanging up the wet clothes, one of these ‘songs with singing’ had come on, and within a few minutes, I distinctly heard two voices opera-ing away. I froze, with Mr. Men pyjamas held aloft, listening to this opera-singing child of mine, eyebrows furrowed in confusion and amazement.

Then I shrugged my shoulders, muttered a little ‘eh’ and continued with my work.

Just another you-must-be-a-homeschooler moment. We get a lot of those around here.

And yes, he does like to sing in the shower.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2010 in Family Life, First Grade, Music

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “What Have I Done to the Poor Boy?

  1. Suji

    June 9, 2010 at 7:46 am

    LOL…starting early on Opera 101 eh? Well done for E and I think you’ve done something wonderful to the lucky boy ๐Ÿ™‚ Wish we could have heard it!

     
    • whimsyway

      June 9, 2010 at 9:14 am

      Lol. Thanks, Suji. ๐Ÿ™‚

       
  2. Kez

    June 11, 2010 at 9:51 am

    lol – yep, just another homeschooling moment ๐Ÿ™‚

     
  3. G

    June 11, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I LOVE those moments. Things like that are what keep us homeschooling. I should introduce my Fairy to opera – she loves singing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
