RSS

Curiosity

07 Jun

We were at Trafford Centre a few weekends ago and I saw an Asian (Indian) lady pick up her feisty little girl (she was about 3) and put her into a highchair. I couldn’t see the little girl’s face,  just her hair…it was silvery-white. And I thought, she’s got a little dress-up wig on. When the mother stepped back, I saw the little girl’s face and it was snowy-white, as were her eyebrows.

I’ve never seen someone (other than in photos) with albinism. I just wanted to stare. She was beautiful and mysterious (to me) and I couldn’t take my eyes away. Well, I did, but I kept glancing up, trying not to be obvious. I know what it’s like to be stared at (white woman + headscarf= plenty of staring) and when it’s in curiosity I don’t usually mind. But when it’s aggressive, I get annoyed.

I hope I didn’t upset the little girl’s  mother, because I’m sure she knew I was looking. Those who get stares always do. I just found her fascinating.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 7, 2010 in Michelle

 

4 responses to “Curiosity

  1. Subadra

    June 8, 2010 at 4:11 pm

    Hi Michelle,
    I have seen many in India, young boys and girls while growing up. I do not see as many these when I visit back home. And interestingly, I have not seen any in US either. This is a wonderful topic of genetics study…
    -Subadra
    http://bookslinksandmore.blogspot.com/

     
    • whimsyway

      June 9, 2010 at 5:47 am

      Yes, it is. I spent a few hours online reading about what causes it (I didn’t realise it was genetic) and the health problems associated with the condition.

       
  2. minara

    June 8, 2010 at 5:43 pm

    you have a lovely blog

     
    • whimsyway

      June 9, 2010 at 5:51 am

      Jazaka’Allah, Minara. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
