RSS

Poppies

14 Apr

I’m a happy bunny today. I just finished a painting, and it’s by no means perfect, but I like it. I know this style isn’t everyone’s cuppa, but I enjoy it. It frees me from the restraints of drawing and making it look “real”. I used this fabulous YouTube video as a guide and just had fun (there are 2 paintings; skip ahead to 5:45 to see the one I did) . You can’t see all the colours and details very well, but if you click on the image and click again to magnify, you can see it full-sized.

I plan to paint this again sometime. Next time I’ll make the stem on the left reach higher, I’ll use more orange hues, and maybe do some sort of glaze or wash prior to painting the poppies. I may add a third bloom as well or more leaves. I love the green.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 14, 2010 in Michelle, Watercolour Painting

 

6 responses to “Poppies

  1. Florida Jim

    April 14, 2010 at 5:42 pm

    Nice and delicate on the poppies. Love the softness of this painting.

     
    • whimsyway

      April 14, 2010 at 8:36 pm

      Thank you, Jim. 🙂

       
  2. Sarah

    April 14, 2010 at 6:08 pm

    I think it is beautiful! I love poppies, but rarely find a picture of them that appeals to me. This one does. Well done!
    Sarah (a fellow home educator in Lancs)

     
    • whimsyway

      April 14, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      Thanks, Sarah. 🙂

       
  3. Subadra

    April 14, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    WOW! That is impressive and awesome! I love it:) The bud has come out so beautifully! Doesn’t that feel very good to paint?:)). I wonder if we can have a live conference painting session…that would be awesome…
    Wishing you more happy paintings…
    -Subadra
    http://bookslinksandmore.blogspot.com/

     
    • whimsyway

      April 14, 2010 at 8:34 pm

      Thanks, Subadra. 🙂 It felt amazing. Even as I type I’m looking at the painting with a grin on my face. I’d spent some time on YouTube watching tutorials last night, which gave me the information and confidence to try that painting. That would be great to have a live conference painting session, but I’m one of these “everybody be quiet…I need to concentrate!” type of painters, at least at this point, lol. Maybe I’ll have my son video me whilst I paint. That might be fun to post on the blog. 🙂 I’d *love* to watch you paint!

       

Leave a Reply

 
