RSS

Sleep Over

11 Apr

A few days ago, Esa went to his cousin’s for his first sleep over. Whilst packing his little pull-along suitcase, he chattered away about the merits and risks of taking this item or that. (“Hmmm…I might lose this…and I probably won’t even play with that…do I need 6 pairs of socks, or just 5? Shall I bring my perfume?”) When his auntie arrived to collect him, he shot out the door, the wheels ofย  his suitcase straining under the weight of his over-packing. Forget a goodbye hug and kiss; he didn’t even look back to wave! He jumped into the car, whooping it up with his 3 cousins while my sis-in-law and I chatted about the adventure the little munchkins were going to have.

That evening, I stayed up way too late playing Barn Buddy and Gardenhood reading and writing a blog post. The next day I ventured into town and had a nice long look at (WHSmith’s limited range of) watercolour supplies and books. Esa’s at that age now were he doesn’t really enjoy shopping, unless it’s for toys or clothes for himself (although he does like grocery shopping). So, I try to go alone now. I often go while he’s playing football Saturday mornings, but that only gives me an hour. I was able to have a long, leisurely look at things. I bought a bunch of stuff, and then returned all but one book. (Damn WHSmith and their 20% off voucher!)

I then did a little painting and reading and thoroughly enjoyed my time alone.

When I collected Esa the next evening, he was exhausted. Apparently, they’d all woken up at 4am, giggling and whispering. My sis-in-law informed them of the ungodly hour and told them to go back to sleep. Which they did. Until 6:30. Esa never gets up that early; he usually sleeps until 8. They played hard and had a great time. When we got home, he had some milk and fell asleep on the sofa at 7:30.

A lovely time was had by all…especially me. ๐Ÿ™‚

The next day? We ditched lessons and had an art day. Esa decided to paint with watercolours.

 

7 responses to “Sleep Over

  1. kathleenslp

    April 11, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    I am really enjoying your blog!

    I was wondering what widget/plug-in you use for your email subscription widget on the right side. I am having trouble finding one that works.

    Great blog ๐Ÿ™‚

     
    • whimsyway

      April 12, 2010 at 6:26 am

      Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚

      If you go to your widgets page, there are 2 columns of widgets. In the right column, second one down, is a widget called ‘blog subscriptions.’ I’ve used that one.

       
  2. Suji

    April 12, 2010 at 12:44 am

    Oh such fun…for him AND for you! Did you miss him in the least? I know I’d be obssessively watching the phone if the kiddo had a sleepover LOL. My kiddo hates shopping too…a lot like E…he’d do it if it was groceries or books.

    Is that a ceramic palette? Love it!

     
    • whimsyway

      April 12, 2010 at 6:23 am

      I did miss him come evening. I’ve been away from him for a whole week once when I was a student nurse, so one day wasn’t such a biggie. (He, dh, and his family had gone on holiday, but I couldn’t go because of my hospital placement.) Plus he was with his auntie, so I wasn’t worried at all. If he’d been with someone I didn’t know as well, I would have worried. Yes, that’s a ceramic palette. I *love* it!

       
  3. Kez

    April 14, 2010 at 10:54 am

    I love the stuff kids pack when they go away – Billy usually wants to take everything he owns ๐Ÿ™‚

    Sounds like you both had a wonderful time!

     
  4. Umm Fatimah

    April 17, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    Asalaamu alaykum sister Michelle. Insha’Allah all is well with you anf your family. I have been a follower of your blog for a while now and Mashallah I really find it very inspiring and informative Barak’Allahu feeke. I started a new blog today and hoped you wouldnt mind that I added you to my blogroll. You can find me at http://simplyhomeschooling.wordpress.com/
    Great for you on your new blog, I was prompt you to start an art blog but you got there first lol
    Umm Fatimah

     
    • whimsyway

      April 17, 2010 at 7:06 pm

      Wa Laykum Salaam, Umm Fatimah. Jazaka’Allah for the kind words regarding my blog. You’re welcome to add me to your blog roll. ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll certainly check out your blog as well.

       

Leave a Reply

 
