RSS

Blogging Break

27 Mar

The Thursday after our holiday ended, dh left for a short holiday to Morocco with his brother and some friends. I had every intention of continuing with our lessons.

But, well, you know…

We were good until Wednesday which was my husband’s first day off from work before leaving for Morocco. He wanted to go out, so we skipped lessons that day. I thought, “we’ll make it up on Saturday.” We were going to be holed up in the house anyway because of the protest going on in town that day.

On Thursday dh was due to leave in the afternoon. “We’ll do our lessons in the afternoon,” I said. The afternoon rolled ’round. We did history, read a Greek myth, copywork,  reading, and handwriting. When it came time for math, we just couldn’t be bothered.

“We’ll do lessons on Sunday as well,” I said.

Mmm-hmmm.

Friday came. “We’d better go out today,” I said to Esa that morning, “because it’s nice out and we won’t be able to get into town tomorrow. I’d also like to go to Hobby Craft to check out their watercolour stuff. Daddy hates Hobby Craft, so we’ll go now. We can take our time.”

So we went to Hobby Craft and I got a few little bits, nothing big. Esa wanted a silver metallic pencil.

By the time we got home, we were exhausted (we’d walked it there and back). No lessons on Friday then, either.

By that point I decided to give up on doing lessons until dh got back. If he’s on holiday, so are we, I thought. So we finished our stuff later in the week. The funny thing is, when our holiday ended the week before, I though to myself, “I could really do with another week off…”

So what did we do, apart from our trip into town?

We watched several movies (Esa watched Charlie and the Chocolate Factory four times...gotta let our hair down sometimes). We were completely chilled out. I relaxed the rules a bit and we had a lovely 4 days.

Esa played various made-up Star Wars games, played with Lego, set up a restaurant, coloured, and kept his room immaculate. He likes to clean and rearrange his room…I don’t know where he gets it from 😉

I read, cooked and baked, painted a little, researched watercolour painting online, drooled over browsed Ken Bromley, tidied a little, and did some indoor gardening (sowed seeds, potted up the cucumber plants, planted my sweet peas into large pots and staked them).

And you know what? I’d like even more time off.

But I can’t do that; it would be irresponsible. Esa’s ready to get back to his lessons, so we must get moving again. It’s not that I don’t want to do lessons, it’s just that I’ve got so many other things I’d like to do,  but there just isn’t enough time. The garden is calling out to me, my watercolours are glowing with all their beguiling colours, just waiting to be dipped into, and that fat stack of books has temptation written all over it. But there’s so little time. I’m already getting up an hour earlier than I usually do in order to make more time for things.

Something’s gotta give.

I spend the majority of my time on 3 things:

  • Housework
  • Homeschooling
  • Cooking

None of those can be cut out or reduced. I spend just enough time on the housework to keep things orderly and semi-presentable. I cook enough to nourish us and prevent trips to the takeaway. Homeschooling is an ever-changing thing; we spend as much time on it as we need.

So what can I cut out?

I’m trying to find ways in which I waste time. I spend a good amount of time reading Yahoo! Group posts and writing blog posts. Each post takes something like 1-2 hours, with photo uploads, link insertions, editing, etc. I also spend a lot of time keeping my pages of links and curricula current. I reckon that I spend something like 4 hours a week on this blog. I love my blog. But right now I’ve got other things that I want to do, and 4 extra hours would be great.

So I’m going to cut back on my Yahoo! Groups and have a blog break.

I don’t imagine it will be a terribly long break. I know the urge to write and share will take over and I’ll be posting again soon. It may be a few weeks, or a few months. We’ll see.

 

5 responses to “Blogging Break

  1. inthemomentwithadele

    March 27, 2010 at 11:57 am

    Michelle,
    Good Morning! You are such a good blogger. Got completely caught up in you writing this early Saturday morning. Of course, I also have an imagination so you know there was a picture of all that is going on with your great descriptions as well.

    Blogging does take much time; however, a few lines to let us know how you are doing would be great!
    You are a Great ” in the moment ” kind a gal!

    Have a great weekend! 🙂
    Adele

     
  2. Kez

    March 28, 2010 at 12:20 am

    Sometimes life just tells you when you need a break 🙂

    See you when you get back.

     
  3. whimsyway

    March 28, 2010 at 7:28 am

    Thanks, Kez. 🙂

    Thanks for the kind words, Adele. I may post a few lines here and there, but I don’t think I’ll be gone too long. 🙂

     
  4. Subadra

    March 30, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    Oh Michelle,
    I totally relate:) Have a great break and come back renewed! Enjoy the break, and hopefully you will find time to do some painting…:)
    Subadra

     
  5. Michelle

    April 4, 2010 at 4:03 am

    Have a good break. I was just reading the Home Scholar blog and she was suggesting that sometimes we need to take a break to accomplish more in our homeschooling.

    I also have trouble doing school when my husband is on a break. He teaches at a university, so he is home a lot and has many breaks. Next session he is only teaching on Tuesdays and Thursdays, so even though it is not the end of the school year, I am just going to do full school days on Tuesdays and Thursdays and then just do math, grammar, reading, and writing on the other days.

     

Leave a Reply

 
