RSS

Re/From the Archives: Things That Go Bump in the Night

15 Mar

This post was from April 9th, 2009:

I think Stiggy has been sleepwalking. It started quite a while ago and only happened a few times, but it’s happening more frequently. The other night, he came into my bedroom (hubby was downstairs still). I said, ‘What’s wrong?’ He said, ‘Tummy yummy!’ in a happy voice, doing a little dance-like movement. So I asked him what he wanted. He said, again, ‘Tummy yummy!’ I asked him if he wanted to get into bed with me and he got in. I asked him something else (can’t remember now), but he didn’t answer me.

Unfortunately, he’s not always so happy when this sleepwalking occurs. One time, I found him sitting at the top of the stairs in the dark (kind of creepy) crying. He would not answer my questions, and he would not move from his spot. I tried for nearly 20 minutes to get him to bed. I didn’t want to forcefully move him, so I told him I was going back down stairs and he still did not move. After 15 minutes, I went back up and he allowed me to put him back in bed.

It started out with him just sitting up in bed and looking around, maybe saying a few words, then laying back down. Beginning around age 4, I noticed he would get out of bed, walk around his room a little, then get back in. This only happened maybe 4 or 5 times. But in the last 3 months or so, he’s gotten up about 6 times. Normally, when he wakes up in the night, he’s alert, responsive, and cooperative, but when he’s sleepwalking, he cannot answer my questions and when I try to get him into bed, he often pulls away from me.

I’ve been reading about sleepwalking, and I can’t see any reason for Stiggy to do it. He’s not on any medication, and does not have any of the risk factors mentioned. It could be genetic, I suppose. For now, we’re just keeping the upstairs baby gate shut so he doesn’t fall down the stairs, and praying he grows out of it quickly.

******

I’m not sure if he’s totally grown out of it, but he hasn’t done any sleep-walking in months. Fingers crossed.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2010 in Family Life, First Grade

 

Leave a Reply

 
