RSS

A Fine Spring Day

04 Mar

When I tell  people that I like January, most people find that strange. Why? They ask, January is cold and miserable. That’s true, but I see getting to January as sort of getting over the hump of winter. And the time between January and March always seems to fly by. And this year has been no exception. March is here already.

There’s a slight chill in the air, but after a few minutes in the sun, it’s really rather warm. Esa did not want to go outside today. He told me that he would go out, but if I went back in, he was coming in, too. We went out and I did a little gardening. My wisteria and little pink rose, which are in pots, have got buds. I’m so pleased they didn’t die over the winter. I trimmed a few things, and put some stiff netting on the vegetable patch to keep the neighbourhood cats out; they’re using it like a Roman toilet.

Esa and I assembled his old picnic table. It’s a bit small, but he’s still able to make use of it. I sneaked inside to do a few chores, and Esa happily stayed out to play. He came inside to get a yohgurt and some books and settled down at his table for a while. Later, I came out with a book and we sat in the sun reading. After that he played footie for about an hour, then some made up games, then some digging, and then complained that he didn’t want to come in.

I think he’d just forgotten how much he enjoys playing out.

 

3 responses to “A Fine Spring Day

  1. Wonder in the Woods

    March 4, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Oh, how I love Spring after a dreary winter. Sounds like a lovely day. ~Cori

     
  2. Suji

    March 4, 2010 at 11:00 pm

    He looks so happy and adorable sitting there 🙂 What a beautiful day!

     
  3. Kez

    March 6, 2010 at 8:50 am

    Looks lovely!

     

Leave a Reply

 
