RSS

Adjusting the Schedule…Again

02 Mar

We’re going to have to switch back to a 5-day week. I’m not thrilled about this, but there have been a few problems with having a 4-day week. For many subjects, it’s been fine; doing reading only 4 days a week is ok, we fit all of our grammar lessons in without a problem, and writing and handwriting work out fine as well. There are 3 problems:

  1. We aren’t able to get in all the history reading (myths, fables, that kind of reading)/supplements/activities within 4 days.
  2. We have 4 subjects that take a lot of time: Science, Natural History, Art, and Artist Study. The last 3 are done once a week, and Science is done twice. It works out better to have  5 days so we can do one “long” subject each day, rather than trying to cram 2 into 1 of the days.
  3. Math. We really need to do math 5 days a week. Sometimes there are 4 lessons a week with Singapore, leaving us no extra day for drill/stories/games/review, etc. It would be overkill to try and squeeze the supplements in next to the lessons. We use a living math approach and need 1, preferably 2 non-curricula days each week for math.

I toyed with the idea of doing a few things on the weekend, but I know Esa’s concentration wouldn’t be there, and I’m likely to just say, ‘forget it for today…we’ll do it later.’ Having a 5-day week will allow us to spread things out a bit, so our school day will only last 2-2.5 hours (since, as I mentioned several posts ago, we’v dropped a few subjects), giving us a good amount of free time afterwards. My plan of Esa spending all day Friday outside just won’t happen. He likes playing out, but not all day. Having 2-4 hours each day is better than 6-8 hours on one day, especially considering the fickle weather.

I also liked having that leeway so that if we had a slightly off day, we could catch up another day. But with only 4 days, I have no leeway.

We will also go back to reading 5 days a week.

I am disappointed about not having that extra ‘free’ day (not that it was actually free; I spent most of the day cleaning the house). One thing I will be keeping from the previous schedule is the way I clean the house. As exhausting as Friday was, I really liked having the whole house clean, and the house has been staying cleaner through the week, so Mondays, after lessons, will be cleaning time, and Esa will continue to help. So what will get bumped on Monday? The home-cooked meal. Well, not exactly. I’ll make something easy (and get hubby to help) like pizza, stir-fry, or spaghetti. I’ll continue to do a quick vacuum and bathroom freshen-up twice a week to keep things nice.

 

6 responses to “Adjusting the Schedule…Again

  1. Suji

    March 2, 2010 at 7:57 pm

    Schedule tweaks? Join the club! We have to do what works. I try not to feel guilty about this anymore and not feeling guilty is actually a big load off my head. We keep weekends free too. We really need those 2 days to just focus on being free (well, kiddo is free, I need it to work in all the chores I’m unable to complete on the weekdays).

    Take care!

     
  2. Kez

    March 3, 2010 at 7:26 am

    Like Suji said – join the club! I’ve lost count of the number of times our routine has been tweaked! It wasn’t a waste – you at least learnt what doesn’t work and you realised that the whole house clean *did* work. All the best!

     
    • whimsyway

      March 4, 2010 at 7:17 am

      Thanks Kez. 🙂

       
  3. Wonder in the Woods

    March 4, 2010 at 4:18 pm

    This sounds great! Schedule is something I struggle with. I like to make one but then don’t stick to it at all. LOL Slowly we are working more into our routine, much like habits… Maybe one day we’ll have a true schedule.

     
  4. G

    March 5, 2010 at 12:17 am

    I’ve tried the 4 day schedule without much success too. I need that fifth day, albeit a lighter one!

     
  5. Michelle

    March 7, 2010 at 8:57 pm

    I agree that having 4 days of academics and having a 5th lighter, fun day with time to catch up on stuff is the way to go. I am loving our new schedule. It is great to have a day to do poetry and art and living math, etc. And it is much less stressful if we miss a day or have a short day because we can finish up on the 5th day.

     

Leave a Reply

 
