RSS

A Day at Whimsy Way

05 Feb

I’ve been sitting here trying to think about what I can blog about. Things are running pretty smoothly school-wise and not much has changed, so it leaves me with little new to comment on. Then I thought, ‘hey, I’ll document our day.’

So this is how our day went a few days ago:

I set my alarm for 6am, but didn’t get up until 7. I fed the cat and put the computer on so it can run all its scans and whatever. I had a shower, got dressed, then came down to have breakfast (Rice Krispies, Activia yoghurt, and orange juice) while checking email, reading blogs, ordering a few books, etc.

Esa then woke up and wanted to watch episode 3 of How Earth Made Us on BBC iplayer while eating his porridge (that’s science done for the day! Normally I read to him). I half watched it while looking through a cook book for a new recipe, making out a grocery list, and making some entries in my filofax for next week.

While Esa was washing up and dressing, I started a load of laundry, put the dry dishes from yesterday away, and got our books ready.

We got started with our lessons at around 9:30. First we did some math drill (addition facts), then italic handwriting (capital C), then Sequential Spelling (lesson 15). I then read him the next section from Story of the World (chapter 20, the first Olympics) while Esa had some cocoa and did a colouring page. He answered the questions from the activity guide, then did a drawing of the Olympics for his narration while listening to a Greek myths audio book.

He then practised reading some compound words, then read a section from Amelia Bedelia (he’s loving Amelia Bedelia). We then did a lesson from First Language Lessons (lesson 45: the 4 types of nouns; we skipped the copy work portion because he does enough writing and copy work as it is). Esa reviewed his poetry memory work (He’s supposed to be learning a poem on the months, but I’ve chosen a different one. I don’t understand why Jessie Wise has lessons teaching the  months in order, then gives the child a poem to memorise which has the months out of order. To help him remember which months have 29 or 30 days, I taught him the mountain and valley thing on the knuckles.)

After that I read a few pages from The Librarian Who Measured the Earth (lots of complaining when I stopped reading) and Esa did some copy work: “It would take Eratosthenes many years.” (‘Many years to do what?’ I asked. ‘To write a book about Geography,’ Esa answered).

On to our Singapore math lesson: measuring length. We used paper clip chains (2 chains, each with different length paper clips) to measure things. I asked him to explain why we get a higher reading when we use the chain with smaller paper clips. He also had to estimate for each chain, prior to measuring, the length of some objects. After the hands-on portion, we did the textbook pages, then the workbook pages. I put the clothes in the dryer and washed dishes while he did his workbook pages.

Finally was art. We did lesson 3 from ARTistic Pursuits. After reading the lesson and doing the art appreciation section, Esa was to draw a nature scene. I put on some Vivaldi and he drew a picture depicting the day we brought home a cutting of a fig tree from his auntie’s garden in Gloucester and he and hubby had to exterminate the red ants. How tranquil.

Lunch time! I made sandwiches and Esa listened to Mr. Fantastic Fox while I read. I debated whether to go to town or not and decided I couldn’t be bothered. I put the laundry away (and the laundry from yesterday…), did a quick vacuum of a few areas and put some olive oil on our sleeping cat (he has a dry patch on his neck and he’s scratching himself raw; the olive oil seems to help. The only problem is that he loves the taste and proceeds to lick much of it off). I put some damp cloths on the radiators to get some humidity into the air.

A quick peek outside tells me it’s snowing. Again.

I gave Esa a Clementine to snack on. I then cooked dinner (a vegetable and rice…thing). Esa was playing with Lego, so I sat with him and made him a little house to go in his ‘city.’

Hubby came home shortly after that, and we all stood at the window watching it snow for a while and speculating on whether or not our bin would get emptied this week. We then made a quick trip to the shop to pick up a few essentials, a stop at the park so Esa could do some running, then headed back home. We had dinner, then worked on our Arabic.

The television came on for about an hour and we watched a history documentary.

Bedtime after that. Esa had some warm milk while I read Pippi Longstocking (again…he loves that story). I brushed his teeth (I allow him to do it himself in the morning, but I like to make sure it’s done properly at night) and then we cuddled up in bed and talked about our day. Esa loves to ask questions like, ‘What was your favourite part of the day? What was your worst part of the day? What do you want to do tomorrow? If you had to get rid of either the kitchen or the bathroom, which one would you choose?’ I love this time of the day. We often spend an hour chatting about things, asking each other questions, discussing things, and making plans.

Esa went to sleep, and I read for a bit while hubby played football with his friends.

This is how many of our school days go. How was your day?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 5, 2010 in Family Life, First Grade

 

2 responses to “A Day at Whimsy Way

  1. Michelle

    February 5, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    Sounds like a lovely day!

     
  2. Sarah at SmallWorld

    February 6, 2010 at 5:27 pm

    Sounds like a nice day! I love Pippi Longstocking. It’s been so long since I last read that to my kiddos!

     

Leave a Reply

 
