RSS

Stiggy Revealed

12 Dec

For a while I’ve been toying with the idea of dropping the fake name. I don’t really like it and eventually he’s going to outgrow it. I’ve been trying to think of another nick name or a fake name, but I don’t like that idea either. My son is a Muslim, has an Islamic name, and it would feel strange to give him a name like ‘Mike’ or ‘John.’ But it would be strange to call him ‘Muhammad’ or ‘Jelalludin’ as well.

I don’t like the ‘ds’ thing either; it’s so impersonal.

His initial? E? Too awkward.

Forget it, I’ll just use his name. I’d probably just slip and say it, anyway. I’m not using surnames, so I don’t feel we’re revealing too much personal info.

So, I’ll just refer to him by his name: Esa.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on December 12, 2009 in About Us, Blogging Fun

 

10 responses to “Stiggy Revealed

  1. Jennifer

    December 12, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    Congratulations. I agree. Unless you are showing pictures of the front of your house with your street address prominently displayed 🙂

     
  2. Jen

    December 12, 2009 at 5:21 pm

    heh, I thought his name was *actually* Stiggy.

    It didn’t seem any more odd than Raven, Indigo, Honor, Eurice, or Pebble. All of which are names homeschool kids we have met. Not a Mike or John amongst them. My son’s name, Ian, is a bit boring compared to such colorful names.

    Esa is a great name.

     
  3. Umm Khadijah

    December 12, 2009 at 9:58 pm

    Assalamu ‘alaykum,

    I thought Stiggy was his real name too! Masha’Allaah, Esa is a beautiful name, I’m very fond of it 🙂

     
  4. Kez

    December 13, 2009 at 9:30 am

    The great unveiling 🙂 How is it pronounced? With a long or short E?

     
    • whimsyway

      December 14, 2009 at 6:12 am

      With a long e. 🙂

       
      • Kez

        December 17, 2009 at 2:47 am

        Ta – I like to pronounce it right in my head!

         
  5. Clare

    December 14, 2009 at 5:50 pm

    Hi Michelle, Esa is a lovely name. I did like his Stiggy nickname as well though as am a bit of a Top Gear fan (was it from there?).

    I’ve been pondering this as well, I think it’s a tough one. I’ve swapped between using nicknames and real names (nicknames at the mo), but I have to say if I’m reading someone’s blog regularly I think it’s a nice touch to know their actual names, makes it a bit more personal and friendly. (I’ll worry about it more if I ever have any readers!)

    I like Grit’s (grit’s day blog) nicknames for her three, but they’re a bit older – I feel like I can’t pick long-lasing names at the mo as personalities are still beginning to develop. Although Jude’s Mr Fierce is probably pretty accurate – we’re working on getting him not to growl at strangers!

     
    • whimsyway

      December 15, 2009 at 7:55 am

      Thanks, Clare. 🙂 Yes, it was from Top Gear, lol. I’m a fan as well. I love the chemistry of those three. No other show makes me laugh more.

       
  6. Suji

    December 14, 2009 at 9:14 pm

    Where we come from (Malaysia, a Muslim country), it’s a well known name only that it’s more often spelt Isa instead of Esa.

    I’ve sort of realized how impersonal DS can get LOL. But I can’t help it. Feels a little scary to go all out and use his real name. Perhaps in another year or so I might stop being so chicken 🙂

    Congrats on the unveiling!

     
    • whimsyway

      December 15, 2009 at 7:53 am

      Thanks, Suji. Actually, I have spelt it ‘Isa’, but so many people end up pronouncing it with a long I, and many people ask me why I didn’t spell it with an E, so I thought to simplify things, I’d spell it as ‘Esa’ on the blog. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
