RSS

Never a Dull Moment

01 Nov

on our street. One night at around 10 o’clock, about 5 weeks ago, Stiggy and I were sitting on my bed reading A Bear Called Paddington. My husband was out  playing football, as he usually does 2 nights a week. Mid-sentence, I heard this strange thud, followed a few seconds later by the sound of tinkling glass. I thought, ‘that was strange, I wonder what that was?’ Then I realised that the sound had come from my bedroom window. Being an American, my next thought was, ‘maybe it was a gunshot; I’d better not run to the window to look.’ I sent Stiggy to his room then approached the window from the side. By then whoever had done it was gone. Or were they? One of my criminal neighbours and his girlfriend, who live directly across had his door open and were looking at our house. Was he just curious about the noise?

I rang the police, explained what had happened and they said someone would ring me back. What? No one’s going to come out? Someone could be trying to break in and you’re not going to come out and take a look???

I then went outside to investigate (I’m just like those silly bimbos in the movies who go outside to investigate a strange noise and never make it back in the house with all their limbs intact)  and amid all the glass on our drive found broken bits of concrete rubble. That’s probably why the second pane of glass hadn’t been penetrated. A brick probably would have gone straight through.

After going back inside, one of our considerate neighbours (whom we know well) knocked on the door to make sure we were ok.

My husband came home shortly after that.

The police never did ring back; we had to ring them back the next day. Nothing’s really been done to catch whoever did it.

Broken window (3) 2009

And then, a few days ago during lessons, this was the sight that greeted us out our front window:

Fire 10.09

Moments later, another engine pulled up. Our criminal neighbour’s house had smoke pouring out of his upstairs windows when they were opened. The man was no where to be seen; there was no ambulance, so my theory is he’s run off.

Lots of people turned up to the house that day: the fire crew were there most of the day, the police were there for quite a while, and several other official-looking people.

This neighbour has been arrested for various offences,  plays hideously loud music at all hours, he once pulled his cooker out of the wall and flooded the entire street with gas fumes, goes outside to argue with his girlfriend,  broke the side pane of his front window 2 weeks ago (which the council fixed for him), broke his front gate (again, the council fixed it) and is just a plain nuisance. If he’s also burned his house down (ok, not down, but still…) and the council welcomes him back into that house, I’ll be outraged. If we missed a few of our rent payments, we’d be on the street.

The man needs help. He shouldn’t be living unsupervised in a family neighbourhood. I hope he gets the  help he needs and they put a nice, civilised family in that house. Preferably one with some children who are homeschooled :).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2009 in Family Life

 

5 responses to “Never a Dull Moment

  1. Suji

    November 2, 2009 at 1:37 am

    Now when you write a homeschooling guide book someday you’ll have some really juicy stuff to add in too LOL. But seriously, I’m glad you guys are ok. Oh I wish we could be living near you. DS would love a playmate like S and we could keep comparing notes on WTM/CM/unschooling.

    Tight hug. Stay safe. Keep a pepper spray or better still nice fat stick close to your bed. I’ve been doing that eversince DS was born!

     
  2. Kez

    November 2, 2009 at 2:05 am

    Wow, scary. I hope it works out.

     
  3. whimsyway

    November 2, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Suji, I would *love* it if we lived near each other! Stiggy would love it, too. Thanks for the hug and advice. 🙂

     
  4. Lynn Seddon

    November 7, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    yikes, Michelle : 0
    sending you lots of love….
    LX

     
  5. whimsyway

    November 8, 2009 at 8:08 am

    Thanks Lynn. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
