RSS

Extrinsic and Intrinsic Rewards

12 Sep

Long-time readers of this blog will know that I dislike external motivators (I’ve even got a category of posts dedicated the topic): carrots and sticks, bribes, grades, gold stars, monetary rewards, reading programmes, etc…I loathe them all. I’ve always felt children should be given better reasons to do things. Preferably,  the reasons should come from within them, and I’ve always strongly believed that offering rewards stifles creativity.

Now I’ve got proof:

I came across this video at the Why Homeschool blog and really wanted to share it. It’s worth watching for its entertainment value alone. It’s geared towards business but really can be applied to parenting and homeschooling.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2009 in External Motivators

 

2 responses to “Extrinsic and Intrinsic Rewards

  1. Kez

    September 13, 2009 at 6:53 am

    I watched that the other day too – isn’t it quite an interesting message?

     
  2. Lynn Seddon

    September 13, 2009 at 8:01 am

    Thank you for sharing this, Michelle
    LX

     

Leave a Reply

 
