RSS

Settling In

28 Aug

I’ve got everything moved over from the old blog. I thought moving all those links was going to take ages; I thought I’d have to write out each title, click on each one at the old blog, open it in a new tab, copy the url, and insert the link on the new page. I did a few this way, then I had a brainwave and simply highlighted the entire list and copied and pasted. WordPress inserted the lovely bullets by itself. All I had to do was change each heading to look how I wanted. WordPress is great. I’ve also added some of our first grade resources to the curricula page.

I’m keeping the old Whimsy Way, though. I like it better than Google Reader for my blog subscriptions, and if I ever decide to move back it’ll be there waiting for me.

It’s Ramadan again. This year the fasting is from about 4am-8:30pm. We use a lunar calendar, which is about 11 days shorter than the solar calendar. I will admit that I’m struggling this year. A lot of it has to do with my unresolved health issues; my mind is just elsewhere right now. My doctor has said it’s kind of the end of the line in terms of tests and such; there just isn’t anywhere else to look. I feel quite reassured that all is well, and this has helped many of the symptoms. It’s just going to take some time I guess.

We’re putting some of the academics on hold during Ramdan and focusing a bit more on religion. Academically, we’re focusing on reading and geography. Stiggy’s learning about the equator, the hemispheres, and the 7 continents. We may cover the oceans, too. I’m using a little out-of-print book I got from a charity shop called My First Atlas. It’s quite old, but for our purposes, it’s fine. We’re also using some blackline maps and I’m having Stiggy colour in each continent a different colour. We’re covering one continent a day. For memory work, he’s memorising the 7 continents, along with their locations.

There isn’t much else going on right now. I’ll try to wait until I’ve got something more exciting to write about before I post again. 🙂

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 28, 2009 in First Grade, Geography, Islam, Memorisation, Michelle

 

5 responses to “Settling In

  1. Kez

    August 28, 2009 at 9:36 pm

    Your new place looks lovely 🙂

     
  2. Suji

    August 29, 2009 at 12:29 am

    I can see why you like WordPress 🙂 I tried it out too some time ago but was a bit spoilt on Blogger’s flexibility with layout so I went back 🙂

    I love your new look and think it’s a great idea how you split the links into pages like that. Nice!

    I grew up where Ramadan featured very prominently in my and my friends’ lives. Hope you’re feeling better soon Michelle and hope the fast doesn’t wear you out too much.

    Take care!

     
  3. whimsyway

    August 29, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Thanks Kez & Suji 🙂

     
  4. Lynn Seddon

    September 1, 2009 at 11:08 am

    Lovely, Michelle
    LX

     
  5. Tony Brown

    September 24, 2009 at 1:10 pm

    I don’t know If I said it already but …I’m so glad I found this site…Keep up the good work I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say GREAT blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Tony Brown

     

Leave a Reply

 
