RSS

Welcome! Whimsy Way Moves On

21 Aug

I’ve been feeling a bit bored and limited by Blogger lately and have been hankering for a change. Following a little discussion on one of my homeschooling groups, I decided to have a little peek at WordPress. I’d heard that WordPress was difficult to use and not as flexible as Blogger, but I’ve found it to be a breeze. I love all the features and flexibility of it…and it has a much more grown-up look. I particularly like the file sharing widget and ‘pages’ feature which allows you to create pages within the blog which are accessible via tabs at the top.

The only thing I don’t like is that you can’t create a post template.

I’m thinking instead of having all of my links in the sidebar, I’ll create a page with all of the homeschooling links; the old blog just looks too messy. I won’t delete the old blog until I’ve got everything moved. But they do have 3-column templates if I need more space.

I’ve already imported the old blog and all the comments to this one. I’m still playing around with the features, so I may not post for a little while (plus it’s Ramadan now, so I should be concentrating on less worldly things…ahem).

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 21, 2009 in Blogging Fun

 

6 responses to “Welcome! Whimsy Way Moves On

  1. Bobbi

    August 21, 2009 at 6:50 pm

    Love the new digs! I need to set aside a blog tweak day for myself. I have several things I need to tweak on my WP site šŸ™‚

     
  2. whimsyway

    August 21, 2009 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks Bobbi! It’s been a lot of fun and quite refreshing to have a change of scenery. šŸ™‚

     
  3. Jane

    August 21, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    Love the new look!

     
  4. Kez

    August 22, 2009 at 5:30 am

    Looks lovely!

     
  5. Lynn Seddon

    August 23, 2009 at 9:06 am

    peeking around the door & saying hello šŸ™‚

     
  6. Clare

    August 23, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Love the new look Michelle, have fun playing with this blog! šŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
