RSS

An Attention-Seeking Cat, A Boy Who Wants to Do History Every Day…and a little about my health…oh, and a bit of Einaudi thrown in for good measure

12 Aug

The cat is going through a jealous phase. You wouldn’t know it by his tranquil expression, but every time I come close to Stiggy, MeMe pushes between us and demands to be petted. Ok, maybe it’s more of a ‘me, too!’ phase because he clearly loves Stiggy as well. During our phonics lesson, he was so fed up with how Stiggy was hoarding all of my time, that he got up and perched himself on Stiggy’s workbook. And he refused to budge until he’d been stroked for an appropriate amount of time. Fortunately, the page he sat on was one Stiggy had already done, so he managed to work around the cat. Even Stiggy’s dancing pencil wasn’t enough to tempt MeMe to abandon his statue-like pose.

____

You know you’re a homeschooler when…

…you ask your child what he enjoyed most from his lessons today and he says: ‘Nothing.’

‘What?’ You ask, surprised. ‘You didn’t like any of it?’

‘No! We didn’t do history today and I wanted to do history!’

Right. Time to pull out the history pockets.
____

My blood tests were all normal; even my haemoglobin is normal.

I saw the ENT consultant. He asked me a few questions, looked in my throat and ears, then threaded a camera through my nose and into my throat. I was really dreading this, but really, the worst part was the anaesthetic spray. For one thing, it hadn’t taken effect when he inserted the camera, so there was little point. As the camera went down my throat, some of the spray came with it, and oh, the taste! Eck! And it lasted for a good half-hour, despite drinking copious amounts of water. The sensation of the camera going down was strange, and it made me want to swallow, but it wasn’t gaggy or horrible.

It wasn’t until I was waiting for my husband to pick me up that my nose and throat went numb; Stiggy could have driven a train of Lego down my nose and I wouldn’t have felt a thing.

The consultant said my larynx is a bit red and prescribed some Gaviscon Advance and lansoprazole. I’m to see him again in about 6 weeks.

I’m not sure where things go from here. I’m to see my GP in less than 2 weeks. I’m really relieved the blood tests were normal, but I’ve still not got an answer to what’s causing my problems. I have managed to relax and many of my symptoms have lessened or subsided altogether…maybe it is all down to stress. Time will tell. I need to get exercising now.

I’ve been listening to a lot of Ludovico Einaudi on YouTube whilst online, which has really helped me to relax.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2009 in Family Life, History, Ludovico Einaudi, Michelle

 

6 responses to “An Attention-Seeking Cat, A Boy Who Wants to Do History Every Day…and a little about my health…oh, and a bit of Einaudi thrown in for good measure

  1. Kez

    August 13, 2009 at 9:12 am

    Hehe, our cat used to sit right on top of your work or book as well πŸ™‚

    I'm glad the blood tests came back normal.

     
  2. Michelle

    August 13, 2009 at 11:51 am

    Thanks, Kez. πŸ™‚

     
  3. Jane

    August 13, 2009 at 3:53 pm

    Stiggy really likes those history pockets. . .maybe we should try them. Thanks for the tip!

     
  4. Michelle

    August 14, 2009 at 7:31 am

    Jane,
    He's not tried the history pockets yet. I bought them last week, and I think it's time to start using them. He just really loves history! πŸ™‚

     
  5. Lynn

    August 17, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Im glad to hear your bloods came back normal.
    Looking forward to seeing you soon πŸ™‚
    LX

     
  6. Michelle

    August 18, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Me, too. πŸ™‚

     

Leave a Reply

 
