RSS

About Me

15 Jul

I can’t remember if I ever did an ‘about me’ post, so instead of looking through the archives, I thought I’d do the more difficult thing and create a post.

I’m a 30-year-old homeschooling mother. I’ve got a past that includes a previous marriage, but I prefer not to go into it too much.

I grew up in Ohio. I went to public school and finished having no idea what I wanted to do with my life. As a teenager, I worked a few typical teen jobs, got good grades, and minded my own business. I became friends with a Muslim family and officially converted at age 15. I had strong faith then, but I wasn’t very practising.

After my first marriage (to a non-Muslim), I took a course in dental assisting and worked for a few months as a dental assistant. I then decided to go to Ohio State University. I studied psychology for a year and a half, became a more practising Muslim, then I met my current husband, a Muslim from the UK. I moved to England and Stiggy was born a year and a half later. I have great in-laws.

I see on a lot of blogs where people will list 20 or so ‘random’ things about themselves. Come on, these things are not random. They are carefully selected because they’re interesting. There’s nothing wrong with that, but I would prefer it if people would be honest about it. I don’t think I have 20 things about myself that would impress anyone. I’ll try to think of some, or at least some things that are mildly interesting, and a few truly random things.

Twenty not-so-random things about me:

1) I don’t like eating with spoons. If I can eat it with a fork, I will.

2) I had braces at age 27.

3) As a child I had a serious bout of Henoch-Schonlein Purpura (twice), which is rare, especially for girls.

4) I wrote a 400-page novel when I was 14. I threw it out because I didn’t think it was any good. (It probably wasn’t, but I’d still like to read what I wrote)

5) As a child I used to fantasise about being Amish. I’d ride my horse and buggy to school and all the kids would accept me in my frock and bonnet. I also used to fantasise about being a nun. Instead, I became a Muslim. I didn’t see the correlation until I was much older.

6) I read while I eat. I’m antisocial at meal times, I don’t like to talk, and I won’t sit at the table (at home; I’m much more well-behaved in public and family gatherings). I sit on the sofa, my plate on a pillow in my lap and read. I’ve done this since I was 14. I also don’t like to eat in public or in a group setting; I’m self-conscious about how messy I am. This was particularly true while I had braces.

7) I get car sick.

8) I can swim, but I’m afraid of drowning. More to the point, I’m worried of being trapped in a car or plane that’s crashed into water and then drowning.

9) I played clarinet in the school band (NOT marching band) and I was pretty good. I’d like to learn cello.

10) I learned French, German, and Spanish in school. I can remember a little French.

11) I have a slight heart murmur and develop an irregular rhythm and palpitations when I’m particularly stressed.

12) My mum and I had a toilet paper fight in Wal-Mart, in front of Stiggy and staff who were laughing uncontrollably. My mother won when she knocked me down with a 48-pack of Charmin Triple rolls. She was undergoing chemo at the time. She strong, she is.

13) I’ve had insomnia since I was 16. Sometimes it’s not so bad, at other times it’s so bad no one wants to come near me because I’m so grumpy.

14) I love cats. Love.

15) I’m not a very good cook and I don’t like to cook. I’m a cleaner, though. And I can bake.

16) I’m from a big Swiss family (my dad’s side). We even have a website, a family history book, and a road in Ohio named after our family.

17) I’ve always wanted to be a writer.

18) I always choose comfort over style.

19) I’ve got a thing for cadbury eggs, Lush toiletries, Radley handbags, Fossil handbags, Miele appliances, anything minty or lemony, Kitchenaid mixers (I don’t even own one), cream soda, Krispy Kreme, apple pie, The Golden Girls, and Hush Puppy shoes.

20) I paint my nails and toenails when I’m in America, but not in England. I have no idea why.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 15, 2009 in About Us, Michelle

 

3 responses to “About Me

  1. michelle

    July 15, 2009 at 3:51 pm

    I grew up in Ohio, too. Small world.

     
  2. Clare

    July 16, 2009 at 6:53 pm

    Ditto re: fascination with the Amish, car sickness, playing clarinet in school band (lol!), cadburys eggs and lush toiletries. I'm allergic to cats though 🙂

     
  3. Michelle

    July 17, 2009 at 7:51 am

    Michelle, you're so right. What's even more surprising, when I was a nursing student (here in England), there was a doctor on the ward with an American accent. I asked him about it and he said he came from Ohio. Not only that, but we were the same age, AND, we grew up in neighbouring towns! I changed schools in High School and ended up at his school, but by that time he had moved to the UK.

    Clare, wow, we've got a lot in common! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
