RSS

My Health

29 Jun

A little warning: I’m going to talk about women’s health (i.e. gynaecology) in this post.

As some of my regular readers know, I’ve had some health problems over the last few months. I’ve been having a lot of pain (a sharp pain in my left side, just inside the hip bone as well as dull pelvic pain which moves about), which my GP can’t seem to diagnose. I’ve had an ultrasound, swabs, and blood work. Nothing’s come back positive. So, he referred me to a gynae consultant. I was seen by the registrar, who examined me and said everything looks and feels healthy. The only gynae explanation is endometriosis. Many of my symptoms fit (pain worse during period, leg pain, back pain, nausea) but one way in which my symptoms to do not fit endo is that I get pain even after a period. (I’d love to know if this happens to others.) I also have terrible on and off leg and foot pain.

I’ve been prescribed Mycrogynon (the pill), which I’m to take continuously so that I don’t have a period. If that doesn’t help, it’s unlikely to be a gynae problem and I’ve have to go back to my GP (and start all over again).

I have mixed feelings about this. While I want an explanation, and I want it to be something that’s not dangerous, I know it can cause (and has caused) a lot of suffering. And I certainly don’t want to start all over again with the GP. I’m just so sick of not knowing what’s going on.

I’ve also been having problems from the neck up. Over the past couple of months I’ve suffered with: a sty in each eye (they’re still there), cold sores (that won’t go completely), a mouth ulcer (short-lived), headaches, ear aches, neck pain and stiffness, vision problems, on and off rash on face (not a mylar rash), on and off pain in the side of my neck, just under my jaw. What on earth causes so many symptoms? Is it just stress? Have I got some horrible neurological condition? Is it an infection? Am I losing it?

The smart thing to do would be to go to the doctor. But I feel like such a hypochondriac going in with that list of problems. I’m also hoping it’ll all just go away, as many things do. But each day seems to bring with it some new problem. One thing goes away, one problem gets worse, and a new one pops up. It’s all quite depressing and annoying. I have to see my doctor in 3 weeks anyway to discuss my gynae visit, so if these other complaints aren’t gone by then, I’ll ask him about it.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 29, 2009 in Michelle

 

6 responses to “My Health

  1. Bobbi

    June 30, 2009 at 1:29 pm

    I advocate talking with your doctor and if you can finding a doctor that will listen to you.

    With that being said it could be just a lot of little things all at once. For the sty's do you wear contacts? My dh battled one in an eye for months. His eye doctor prescribed a home remedy of sorts. Washing his eye off (the outside not the eye ball 😀 ) with baby shampoo twice a day and then holding as warm as you can stand it compress on it to help it drain.

    Headaches especially sinus type can cause your jaw to ache. Or if you are a bit stressed (which I think you are!) you might be clenching your jaw at night?!

    In any cases I hope that you feel a bit better each day and that things get sorted out.

     
  2. Sherry

    June 30, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    Oh man…you sound miserable! I am so sorry. My personal opinion is that you should head back to the doctor and not wait–granted, most of the time they don't seem to have a clue. But wouldn't it be worth it if he/she knew immediately what your neck up problems were caused by and could actually help?

     
  3. Michelle

    June 30, 2009 at 2:06 pm

    Hi Bobbi,

    Nope, I don't wear contacts. I've been washing my eye with baby wash, and I did the compress thing. My doc gave me antibiotics when I first got it for the suspected pelvic infection, but it helped the first sty a bit). Now he's given me antibiotic eye drops, but they're not really helping. I know sometimes it just takes a while for stys to heal, and sometimes they have to be cut out.

    The jaw pain isn't really jaw pain, it's in my neck but near my jaw. Although, I have had jaw pain, too, which I know is from clenching my jaw from stress. I have to constantly remind myself to loosen my jaw.

    Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

    Sherry,

    I probably will go back soon. I'm just tired of going in, thinking they're going to have an answer for me, and being disappointed. Or my favourite: 'take these pills and wait and see.' Grrrr.

     
  4. Gerky

    July 2, 2009 at 10:25 pm

    I had pain in my right side right around the hip for 2 years. I had endometriosis, cysts and a fybroid tumor all down in that region. My pain was constant but much worse when I ovulated.

    Endometriosis seems to be passed on through the famil genes. My mom had endometrosis and had a case study written on her. In fact when my aunt was diagnosed with it (in another state) her doctor said there has only been one significant papeer written on it and that was in Iowa. My aunt had to say, "That is about my sister."

    I wasn't on the pill at the time because we were trying for number 4. The solution to my problem was a hystorectomy. While the doctors went in to remove a cyst that was on my fallopian tube he found the endometriosis which explained ALOT of the symtoms I was having.

    I hope the pill works for you. If you have any questions I would be happy to try to answers them.

    Gerky

     
  5. Michelle

    July 3, 2009 at 7:45 am

    Thanks Gerky. Wow, you had a bit of everything! I'm not really sure if anyone else in our family has it as I'm not in contact with my dad's family and apart from my mum (who never had it), I don't have any female blood relatives on that side.

    Thanks for the offer of help. I'll see how I get on; I may have questions if it does turn out to be endo.

     
  6. Frankie

    July 4, 2009 at 2:55 am

    I have a pain that I've had on my right side for years. My last doctor told me it was my bowel, but I don't think it is. Pain is worse during ovulation, but stays there throughout and yes, after.

    Go to your doctor, get checked out. That's what they're there for.

    I'm having surgery soon, an ablation and they're also going to remove fibroids. I kind of just wanted everything yanked out, but the doctor suggested this.

    Oh, women problems, they really are a pain.

     

Leave a Reply

 
