RSS

Blogging, The Lake District, and Gardening

02 Jun

Despite the fact that I have a ‘blogging without obligation’ button on my sidebar, I do feel a lot of obligation. Blogging has become something I’ve got to do (‘I need to blog about this…it’s been 5 days since I’ve posted…must have photos to go along with this post…Tiny Talk Tuesday is tomorrow and I can’t think of anything to write…’). And I’m losing my enjoyment for it, and I don’t think my posts are as good as they once were. My blog has become like a living thing that I have to maintain and I feel guilty if I don’t.

We’re also very busy these days (well, we’re always busy, but even more so) with the garden and things, and I’ve got to cut out some extraneous stuff. I’m not bothering with my gardening journal, other than to a store for useful information. I’m not reading as many blogs, either…I love them all, but I’m cutting back to just a few favourites. I love reading about homeschooling, but I’d rather be doing it, or making plans for next year.

So, I’m now truly going to blog without obligation. I may go several days, several weeks, or even a month without posting, but I will post. And then it may be 2 or 3 in a row. But it will be when I have time and when I’m inspired.

Anyway, we’ve had some amazing weather lately, and we have really taken advantage of it. We’ve spent the majority of our time outside, we’ve had 2 barbecues, lessons outside, and we went to the Lake District (home of Charlotte Mason and Beatrix Potter) last Saturday. Here are a few images:

Our luxury cruise on Lake Windermere:

‘Look Mummy, a giant lollipop!’

The Georgian mansion we bought on a whim:

Oh, alright! it’s a hotel. 🙂

The Beatrix Potter Attraction:

From the award-winning Peter Rabbit garden, my third favourite plant, foxglove:

My second favourite plant, bleeding heart:

(In case you’re wondering, here’s my list of favourite plants: 6.Fuchsia 5.Jasmine 4.Rose 3.Foxglove 2.Bleeding heart 1.Wisteria. This list is subject to change due to whim, fancy, mood, or something I see in an Alan Titchmarsh book.)

I do have a bleeding heart, but not the one above, which I like better. Here’s mine:

My fuchsias are blooming:

And I bought a little rose plant a few weeks ago:

I’ve realised that if you’re willing to be patient, you can save a lot of money by buying small, young plants. Very small. Morrison’s has some great bargains. As mentioned before, I got Wisteria and Jasmine for £1.79 (They looked half dead when I brought them home, but the Jasmine has shot up and the Wisteria has masses of new leaves [I’m trying to grow a new one from a cutting…we’ll see how that goes]). We went back the other day and picked up another Jasmine, which has red blooms, and a Clematis, also for £1.79. We also found a Snowy Mespilus for £1.99. Yes, they’re small, and no, they won’t flower this year (the Wisteria may not flower for about 5 years), but at those prices, I’m willing to wait. And I won’t feel so guilty if I accidentally kill something.

I was moving some of my container plants around last week just after nearly a month of continuous rain, and when I lifted the peppermint, there was a slug the size of a toilet paper roll underneath. Ick. Bleugh. Gross. I nearly took a picture of it.

 

5 responses to “Blogging, The Lake District, and Gardening

  1. michelle

    June 2, 2009 at 4:16 pm

    Blogging is a funny thing. It is fun, but then it gets to be a chore. I try to blog at least twice a month and I never do things like ” Math Monday” that would require me to keep something up.

    I cut back on my blog reading recently, too. I have a bunch of homeschool blogs on my sidebar that I don’t actually read anymore. I realized as you did that I would rather spend my time doing things than just reading about doing things.

    I recently signed up for Google Reader. I don’t know why I didn’t earlier. It is so nice to just go to one page and see if anyone has updated instead of going to everyone’s page only to discover there is nothing new.

     
  2. Lynn

    June 2, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    oh, I love the lakes. & the BP museum is just brill. I have a white bleeding heart..you can have some if you like 🙂
    (to plant)
    LX

     
  3. Michelle

    June 3, 2009 at 8:11 am

    Michelle,

    I'll have to check out google reader; I've heard a lot of people talk about it.

    Lynn,

    Thanks Lynn, I would love to have a cutting! 🙂

     
  4. Southern Drawl

    June 3, 2009 at 5:15 pm

    I love Beatrice Potter and Charlotte Mason! Thanks for the cool post.

     
  5. Clare

    June 5, 2009 at 3:18 pm

    Hi Michelle,

    beautiful pics, I love the lake district.

    I completely understand about blogging, and espeically homeschool blogs – it's so ironic, writing about family when it's taking you away from your family! I really hope you manage to find a good balance.

    btw, it's Clare from somethingrichandstrange – I'm trying to organzie my blogging a bit!

     

Leave a Reply

 
