RSS

Time to Get Fit (Post #1)

06 May

I’ve decided it’s time for me to mend my ways: I’m overweight, my clothes don’t fit, and I feel unhealthy. When I was in my 20’s, I made a vow that when I hit 30 I’d stop eating junk, start exercising, and stay exercising. Well, the miscarriage kind of threw those plans out the window temporarily, but now it’s time to take action.

I’m starting with exercise because I find this easier to do than dieting. Once I get some results, the diet bit will be easier. Last week I did yoga twice and a workout once. I’d like to exercise 5 days a week: three days of yoga (I’m using this DVD and it’s excellent) and 2 days of workout with some running and swimming thrown in here and there. And lots of water.

Weigh in for 27/4/09: 129 pounds (9 stone, 3 pounds)
Weigh in for 4/5/09: 126 Pounds (9 stone)

Three pounds is a good start, but I’m thinking it’s all water and normal fluctuation.

I’m only 5 foot 2 inches, so that is at the top end of an acceptable weight. When I was 18, I weighed just under 100 pounds. This is too light, obviously, but I’m hoping to get down to 105-110. I managed to do this a few years ago by running (which I HATE), but when I began nursing, I put it back on. When I quit nursing, I put on a bit more. I enjoy yoga and it’s something I can do year round regardless of the weather, so I’m hoping I’ll keep up with it.

I’m hoping that by blogging, this will help keep my motivation high and push me a bit more. I plan to do weekly, or biweekly updates.

Off to do my yoga.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 6, 2009 in Michelle

 

2 responses to “Time to Get Fit (Post #1)

  1. Kez

    May 6, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Good luck with it!!

     
  2. Clare

    May 9, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    We got a wii fit a few months ago which is really good – as soon as I get into gear with getting fit, that’s what I’m going to use (at the moment it’s covered in dust under my chest of drawers! 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
