RSS

The Turn Off Week Blog Challenge: How it All Went

27 Apr


Well, it was an interesting week. I was unable to convince the family to participate, but we don’t watch much tv anyway in our house, so the challenge was really about me cutting back on my computer time.

I quickly changed the rules I had set for myself. Instead of limiting so much what I did, I tried more to limit my time. On Monday, I managed to be on the computer for only 20 minutes. This was mainly because I had been online the previous evening getting totally caught up with everything. I did go no mail on most of my groups, which also helped. For the next few days, I averaged about an hour a day. Not too bad. And I did not blog. I did read some blogs, but I did not post any messages on my own blog. I also made it a point not to go online when Stiggy was up. But by Friday I’d sort of blown it. I’d made a big decision about our homeschooling which required me to be online for quite a long time (that’s for another post). But I still felt quite self-conscious about how long I was spending, and I knew once I’d done what I needed to do, I’d get off and go back to only being on for short periods.

I found that there was a knock-on effect of reducing computer time. The less time I spent online, the fewer bunny trails there were to chase, which reduced my time further. I was tempted a few times to stick my oar in on a few blog posts, but I resisted the urge to inflict my opinions on people and this was my greatest achievement this week. I have a real inability to control myself when it comes to voicing my thoughts on things about which I feel strongly so being able to let it go was such an accomplishment. I hope to continue with that.

I even had a few minutes when I felt…bored (gasp). Not that I had nothing to do, but I didn’t feel like doing anything. Those are times that I normally fill with the internet. It was nice instead to have a rest, sit and think, or read an extra story to Stiggy.

I do want to continue with keeping my computer time to a minimum. Spending time online isn’t very fulfilling. And I found I appreciated, and made better use of my time, when it was limited. I got done what I needed to get done and did something else in the real world, not the virtual one.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2009 in Blogging Fun

 

4 responses to “The Turn Off Week Blog Challenge: How it All Went

  1. Kez

    April 27, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I *really* need to get back into limiting my computer time. Like you, I find I have so much more time when I do!

     
  2. Mama B

    April 28, 2009 at 3:45 am

    My kids are the best “timers” I have. They got tired of hearing “just one more minute” and now are quite the little alarms when it’s time to go away from the computer! I’m down to about twice a day for big chunks of time say 30 to 40 minutes. Which is enough time to answer email, blog and read really fast. Leaving a few sparse comments in my wake! HA HA HA

    btw ran into your question about Secret Garden. I’ve been pleased with the “Classic Starts” series. It’s abridged but keeps enough of the original that it feels solid. And I can get Secret Garden from my book swap site so if you are on bookmooch that’s a place to find it.

     
  3. Kelly

    April 28, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    My little one is the perfect timer! Although I’ve been known to distract her with the t.v. (bad mama). If you are interested, I’m offering a giveaway to those who participated in the challenge (thanks to Light-beam publishers).

     
  4. Teresa

    April 28, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    I had a lot of the same feelings that you did. Glad your week went well.

     

Leave a Reply

 
