RSS

Unplug Yourself

13 Apr

I’ve been inspired by this blog to participate in the ‘Turnoff Week Blog Challenge.’ The Center for Screen time Awareness is having a Turn-Off Week from April 20-26. I’m hoping to convince Stiggy and the hubby to participate. For me, the challenge will be more to do with getting off the computer. I won’t be able to avoid the computer completely, but I hope to greatly reduce how long I spend on it for that week (and maybe after). These are my goals:

-No blogging (reading or posting)
-Check hotmail acounts once a day, instead of twice a day
-Go ‘no mail’ on some of my Yahoo groups
-Check Yahoo mail once a day, instead of 2 or 3
-No other internet activity, unless absolutely necessary for homeschooling or gardening. And no Amazon. Or Book Depository. Or Book People. Or Pick A Book. Or Book Butler.

Anyone care to join me?

 

5 responses to “Unplug Yourself

  1. Kez

    April 15, 2009 at 6:44 am

    I should, but I don’t think the family could!

     
  2. Mama B

    April 16, 2009 at 2:09 am

    I just took a week off and it was great! I was down to checking email once, tweeting a few times and making my necessary rounds to my board I run.

    I may try this with the kids it would be a good time for a break from the wii and such.

     
  3. madfolly

    April 19, 2009 at 10:14 am

    I’ve done it before (I wrote a short description of it on my blogs) and I’m doing it again. Highly recommend it.

     
  4. happybirdycake.blogspot.com

    April 19, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    good luck! yes… computer is going to be a tough one… check email once a day … not a million??? good goal! i will try too! 🙂

     
  5. Teresa

    April 19, 2009 at 11:37 pm

    I’m joining you. Hope you have a great week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
