RSS

Stopping to Admire the Daffodils

12 Apr

It was a pretty uneventful week…until Saturday rolled around.

We went out to do a little shopping and have a look at a gardening centre, just to get some ideas. It was a lovely day; I’d bought a few packets of seeds, and I was quite eager to get home and do a little research online about growing some of them. I was sitting in the back seat of our car, on the driver’s side. I happened to glance in the side view mirror, and as I did, I saw a car come sideways, towards us, quite quickly. Just as I was thinking, ‘they seem quite close,’ the car slammed into ours. Our car swerved a fair bit, and I remember thinking, ‘we’re ok,’ but I was worried about us hitting someone, or being hit again. I quickly turned around, and the car that hit us was spinning. We were going about 40, on a 3-lane road. Amazingly, no one else was involved.

We pulled over and my husband went to sort things out. The driver of the other car was ok; she says she lost control of her car.

Our car wasn’t parked in the best of places; not only is it a busy road, but there’s an on-ramp not too far behind, so Stiggy and I got out of the car. Fortunately, there was a nice side walk and some grass. There were some lovely Daffodils, so we had a good look at them and some other plants and minibeasts. Stiggy picked me a dandelion and a little weed that looks like a daisy. He insterted them into the button holes of my coat.

I was very shaken up by the accident. It could have been so much worse. There was a wall next to the road on that section, and if we had been next to it as our car swerved…well, I don’t want to think about it. I’m just extremely thankful no one was injured and no one else was involved.

Our car is damaged, but drivable. We have to wait and see yet whether it will be fixed or just written off.

On a more positive note:

This week Stiggy learned to make a tuna sandwich on toast. He felt so proud of himself and ate his lunch with much gusto.

We didn’t do much in the way of gardening until the weekend. We each did a sketch of the garden and took a photo.

Here’s Stiggy’s photo:


A real garden of Eden, innit? But, it has got potential. This garden is huge for houses in this area; most have a small concrete yard. Stiggy and Hubby have nearly finished constructing a small raised bed where we will plant some flowers.

We did some gardening this weekend. I’ve sowed Sweet Peas, mint, more Sunflowers, thyme, lemon balm, and Osteospermum Pink Fizz. I’ve planted fuchsias in a hanging basket.

Stiggy has really enjoyed spending so much time outside. He’s become more aware of creepy crawlies, birds, butterflies, and flowers by working on these hunt sheets.

My lavender is sprouting and I’ve caught some sun on my cheeks. 🙂

Oh, and don’t forget to get your free seeds here and here (UK residents only).

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 12, 2009 in Art, Family Life, Gardening, Kindergarten

 

2 responses to “Stopping to Admire the Daffodils

  1. Suji

    April 14, 2009 at 3:42 am

    Whoa, I’m SO glad you guys are okay. Take care Michelle.

     
  2. Kez

    April 15, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Thank goodness you guys are ok!

     

Leave a Reply

 
