RSS

Things that Go Bump in the Night

09 Apr

I think Stiggy has been sleepwalking. It started quite a while ago and only happened a few times, but it’s happening more frequently. The other night, he came into my bedroom (hubby was downstairs still). I said, ‘What’s wrong?’ He said, ‘Tummy yummy!’ in a happy voice, doing a little dance-like movement. So I asked him what he wanted. He said, again, ‘Tummy yummy!’ I asked him if he wanted to get into bed with me and he got in. I asked him something else (can’t remember now), but he didn’t answer me.

Unfortunately, he’s not always so happy when this sleepwalking occurs. One time, I found him sitting at the top of the stairs in the dark (kind of creepy) crying. He would not answer my questions, and he would not move from his spot. I tried for nearly 20 minutes to get him to bed. I didn’t want to forcefully move him, so I told him I was going back down stairs and he still did not move. After 15 minutes, I went back up and he allowed me to put him back in bed.

It started out with him just sitting up in bed and looking around, maybe saying a few words, then laying back down. Beginning around age 4, I noticed he would get out of bed, walk around his room a little, then get back in. This only happened maybe 4 or 5 times. But in the last 3 months or so, he’s gotten up about 6 times. Normally, when he wakes up in the night, he’s alert, responsive, and cooperative, but when he’s sleepwalking, he cannot answer my questions and when I try to get him into bed, he often pulls away from me.

I’ve been reading about sleepwalking, and I can’t see any reason for Stiggy to do it. He’s not on any medication, and does not have any of the risk factors mentioned. It could be genetic, I suppose. For now, we’re just keeping the upstairs baby gate shut so he doesn’t fall down the stairs, and praying he grows out of it quickly.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2009 in Family Life

 

5 responses to “Things that Go Bump in the Night

  1. little prince's mummy

    April 9, 2009 at 6:57 am

    Sleepwalking is quite dangerous, isn’t it? Don’t know what u’re doing…

     
  2. Michelle

    April 9, 2009 at 10:20 am

    ‘Sleepwalking is quite dangerous, isn’t it? Don’t know what u’re doing…’

    Not sure what you meant by this. From what I’ve read, it isn’t dangerous and there isn’t a whole lot that can be done other than making sure his surroundings are safe and not drawing attention to it.

    In most cases, there is no underlying cause. If he presented with any symptoms of psychological distress, I would take him to the doctor. But he’s a happy, normal, well-adjusted child and I won’t subject him to tests which could exacerbate the sleep-walking (making a child worry about it often makes it worse). I’m certainly not going to medicate him or strap him down. I’m a light sleeper and I wake up as soon as he gets up, so I’m able to monitor what he does. That’s what I’m doing. 🙂

    I don’t mean to be defensive; I just wanted to explain further. My instinct, and what I know of my son, tell me, at this point, not to worry. We are taking it seriously, and if it worsens, we will seek medical advise.

     
  3. Lightning Dash

    April 9, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    My youngest brother in law who lived with us in Singapore from the age of 9 to 16 used to sleepwalk from about 3 years old. When he lived with us these episodes were usually confined to within his bed or bedroom but once I found him seated on the floor in the living room at night rocking himself and mumbling something. I didn’t shake him and just watched him for a while. He was completely oblivious to me. He is now 20 and a medical student and living in a dorm. He’s fine there so far and although I believe he still wakes up at night it isn’t as frequent as it used to be.

    He had a number of harrowing experiences as a child, among them extreme poverty but possibly as things stabilized over the years, he’s become happier. I don’t think all kids who sleepwalk do it due to disturbed childhoods though. After having read up on it to see if I could help my BIL, I’ve come to realize that it could be possible that some sleepwalkers have very active thought processes like my BIL’s that don’t really shut down for rest when they are asleep.

    I completely agree about the tests!! My DS for one is a prime example of someone who worries and worries if I flare up an issue.

    Sleepwalking is rarely dangerous. But I totally understand the anxiety. Some nights I used to stay up just to make sure my BIL was okay…my MIL having lived with it since he was a child was a lot more level-headed about it LOL. All the best Michelle.

     
  4. jennybell

    April 11, 2009 at 12:22 am

    Samuel does this sometimes, but he doesn’t say anything or go anywhere dangerous (as far as know). He just comes in our room and wakes me up, and I walk him back to his bed.

    To add the reactions buttons at the bottom of your posts, go to Edit Layout/Page Elements and click on Edit Blog. Then you can check a box to add it. I just discovered it the other day when I was playing around.

    I’ll decide if I like it if I get only positive reactions 🙂

     
  5. Michelle

    April 11, 2009 at 7:30 am

    Thanks, Jenny! 🙂

    Thanks for the reassurance, Lightning Dash. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
