RSS

The Big Three-Oh

26 Feb

I’m 30 today. When I was a child, I could never imagine myself this old. I remember trying to think what it would be like to be 21, and that’s as far into the future as I went. I think I had a fear that I wouldn’t make it any further than that. So, I could sit here and bemoan the loss of my 20’s, but the way I see it, I’m blessed to be alive. Age is a gift that not all people receive.

Ok, I do still feel a bit sad to be leaving the 20’s behind. I’ve heard it’s more difficult to turn 30 than 40. I think this is because turning 30 is when it first occurs to us that we are in fact ageing and will not remain young forever. No, 30 isn’t old, but it’s older than 20…a lot older. And we’re only going to get older. We all know this, but it doesn’t become a reality until we begin to face it head-on.

I’ve always loved birthdays. I love the idea of a day all for me. When I was a child, I asked my parents why there is mother’s day and a father’s day, but there is no kid’s day? They informed me, and quite rightly so, that everday is kid’s day. Of course, I didn’t really feel this was true at the time, having nothing to compare it to. Then my mom did something so wonderful that I’ve never forgotten it. She created ‘Michelle’s Day.’ This was to be a day, like mother’s day, that would be all for me. I can’t remember what we did on Michelle’s Day, which occured a few weeks later, and it only happened that once (we all forgot about it, including me), but I’ll never forget her doing that.

And I don’t rely on others to make my birthday special. I love it when people remember, but I also make it a special day myself. I don’t cook, I don’t clean, I indulge in whatever sweet treats I fancy, I play at my hobbies, and just generally enjoy my day.

And that’s just what I plan to do.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 26, 2009 in Family Life, Michelle, Milestones, Ramblings

 

2 responses to “The Big Three-Oh

  1. Frankie

    February 27, 2009 at 5:42 pm

    Happy Birthday! The 30s are great.

    I didn’t bat an eye at turning 30, but 40–oh, I had a very hard time with that one. I’m 43 now and okay with it, but 40 was a jolt.

    I know that the only thing about 30 that bothered me was I wanted a baby before I was 30. Well, I got pregnant at 29 and had my baby when I was 30. Good enough. lol

    I hope you have a wonderful day!

     
  2. Suji

    March 7, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Hi Michelle and happy belated! I’ve been behind catching up with friends’ blogs. Sorry I missed it! Have an extra cupcake on my behalf k? 🙂

    Suji (who wishes she was 30 and not past 35)

     

Leave a Reply

 
