RSS

All By Myself

23 Feb

My husband took Stiggy to Gloucester (GLOSS-ter) to visit relatives last weekend. They left Saturday morning and returned Sunday night.

I was quite excited about this…a huge chunk of alone time, all for me! But, I did have a date…two dates, actually. One was with my friend Lynn. She came over and we knitted, at apple pie, and indulged in some idle gossip. It was great.

The other date was with my computer. I finally had a nice stretch of time in which to get some real work done- and I did. I sorted through all my internet bookmarks (deleted quite a few, too), sorted my document folder, cleaned out email inboxes, sorted my Amazon wishlist (my American one, my .co.uk list is always tidy), and several other odds and ends that needed doing. It felt wonderful to get all of that done. My documents and bookmarks are so much more accessible now; I’ll make much better use of them.

The only downside to this alone time was at night. I’m a scaredy-cat anyway, but one of our neighbours is a bit of a crimal (and he was recently sectioned for ripping his cooker out of the wall…we could smell the gas outside). I was terrified he was going to try to break in. I took some security precautions, but still I could not sleep. I finally drifted off at 6am and slept until 9am. Once daylight arrived I felt silly…the darkness does funny things.

Stiggy had a great time. The weather was lovely where they were, and he played outside all day both days. He played soccer with children on the street, went to the park, went to the Beatrix Potter exhibit, The Tewkesbury Abbey (you may recognise it as Hogwarts from the Harry Potter films) and did not want to come home on Sunday. πŸ™‚

I was so happy to see my family when they came home. It was lovely to have time to myself, but only because I knew they’d be back.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 23, 2009 in Family Life, Michelle

 

One response to “All By Myself

  1. Lynn

    February 24, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    I had a *wonderful* time! thanks for the invite πŸ™‚
    LX

     

Leave a Reply

 
