RSS

Apple Pie

19 Feb

I love apple pie; it’s one of my favourite desserts. My mum gave me a great recipe that I have tweaked, and I thought I’d share it.

PASTRY
I usually buy the just roll stuff from the shop because it saves time and I’m not great with pastry, but when I’m feeling particularly domestic, I do make it myself.

2.75 cups sifted flour
.5 teaspoon salt
.5 cup Crisco (Trex)
.25 cup butter
2-3 tablespoons cold water

Mix the flour and salt. Cut the butter and vegetable fat into the flour, or use fingers to rub it in, until course crumbs form. Mix in just enough water to form a dough. Refrigerate while preparing pie filling (may need a bit longer, an hour should be enough)

FILLING
*5-6 apples (use whatever kind you like)
*.5 cup brown sugar
*.75 cup white sugar (more or less, depending on preference)
*.75 teaspoon cinnamon
*pinch nutmeg
*pinch ground cloves
*pinch ground ginger
*pinch chilli powder (you want just enough to add warmth and bring out the other flavours, not to make it spicy hot…unless you want it that way)
*2-4 tablespoons flour (this is going to depend upon the juiciness of your apples. You want enough flour to create a nice, thick syrup within the pie as the juices are released, but not so much it’s too dry.)
*1 egg , beaten

Mix together the sugars, spices, and flour in a small bowl. Peel, core, and slice the apples. Roll out pastry, place bottom layer of pastry in pie plate. Add apples evenly, sprinkle sugar mixture on top. (You can add a few little slivers of butter on top of this if you like) Roll out top layer of pastry, place on top of pie, seal edges, and use a fork to make several holes, spread evenly, in top layer of pastry. Brush beaten egg thinly on top. Bake at 375 (190 C) for 40-50 minutes.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on February 19, 2009 in Recipes

 

3 responses to “Apple Pie

  1. Lynn

    February 19, 2009 at 10:07 am

    yum!
    I hope you are going to make some for Saturday 😉
    LX

     
  2. Clare

    February 20, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    That looks like a great recipe, will definitely file away for when I’m feeling domestic too! 🙂

     
  3. Lynn

    February 22, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    tastes as delicious as it sounds 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
