RSS

Ramadan Activities

09 Sep

My son’s really been enjoying the Ramadan activities. We made a calendar chain. Every evening he tears off one of the links. The number of links corresponds to the number of days left in Ramadan.

He’s also done a little copy work activity. We listed some of the things we like to eat for sehri (breakfast) and iftar (meal to break the fast in the evening.) Then we listed things that should be done while fasting, like praying, reading Qur’an, and giving charity. He seems to enjoy writing.

We’ve also been doing some reading and he now understands what fasting means, why we do it, and that it’s a special time.

We’ve also found a lovely poem (scroll down to very bottom) that we’re working on memorising.

And he’s been doing some colouring pages and listening to some children’s Islamic songs (Listen to one here and another here)

As for me, it’s been easier than I expected. I’ve managed my fasts and have been praying. I’ve been quite neglectful of these things in the past and I’m trying to get myself back on track.

We believe that during the first 10 days of Ramadan God brings down his mercy and makes it easy for us…this has certainly been true for me and I’ve noticed a change in myself. My patience has grown and I feel much more peaceful. Pausing 5 times during my day to go and pray keeps my mind fresh and prevents me from getting bogged down by the mundane, day-to-day junk that clogs our minds and hearts. It’s a time to reconnect with God, ask for help, and give thanks. I no longer see the prayers as a chore and a burden. They’re a gift.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 9, 2008 in Islam

 

One response to “Ramadan Activities

  1. Naimah Umm Khadijah

    December 27, 2008 at 11:38 am

    Masha’Allaah looks like you both did some lovely things for Ramadhaan, glad it went well for you. If you don’t mind me asking, how long have you been muslim for?

     

Leave a Reply

 
