RSS

We’re Back

29 Jul

Ah…to be home again. OK, I referred to America as home, too, but you know what I mean. To be in my own house, to see my in-laws (to whom I’m quite close), and of course the husband.

Thankfully we’ve adjusted to the time difference; I’m no longer staggering around at 9am, thinking it’s only 3am and wondering why it’s so darn bright out. My son is getting up at a normal time and no longer singing to himself at 2am.

I’m soooooo excited about homeschooling now. I’ve done so much reading, so much preparation (although that’s an ongoing, never-ending process), bought most of what I’ll need for the next year, and even a few things for the years ahead…now I just want to do it!

Since we’ve just returned, I’m trying to get all my books and things nicely organised, which entails hanging some more shelves. I’ve got a lot of info to sort, I need to sort my resources, create some sort of timetable (which may all go out the window, but I have a real need to organise and plan), etc. Since we’re Muslims, we’ll be fasting in September for Ramadan, so our focus for that month will be on religion. I also want to finish up his baby book, which will take several weeks (or months) as it’s also kind of a scrap book. I want that done before we kick off our (official) homeschooling; it’s a lot of work getting out all the photos and supplies and once I get going it’s difficult to tear me away. I’d also like to get some knitting and sewing done…seeing as we’re going to have a new addition to the family (no, I’m not pregnant…one of my in-laws is) I’ve got some work to do. 😉

So, I’m hoping to begin a gentle Kindergarten programme in October, or maybe November.

Here is a basic outline of our Kindergarten programme:

We have tons of manipulative-type resources like games, puzzles, sandpaper letter cards, magnetic letters, etc, which I will also post to give you some ideas, but here are some of our written resources:

Reading
Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons
Modern Curriculum Press Phonics Level A
Bob Books

Charlotte Mason primers
Other good children’s literature

Writing
Games for Writing by Peggy Kaye

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons (using corresponding exercises from Donna Young website)

History/Geography
Hands Around the World (a book of hands-on activities)

Math
Family Math (hands-on activities)
Math Play
(hands-on activities)
Math for the Very Young
(hands-on activities)
Modern Curriculum Press Mathematics K
(maybe)

Science
Janice VanCleave’s Big Book of Play and Find out Science Projects
Mudpies to Magnets
Everyday Discoveries
The Little Hands Nature Book
Super Science Concoctions
The Kids’ Nature Book

(all of these are hands-on activities)

Art
Kids Create!
The Kids’ Multicultural Art Book

General
The Ultimate Book of Homeschooling Ideas


Our Plan:

Reading
Daily lesson from text from 100 EZ Lessons
Daily phonics lesson
At Least an hour of reading aloud with some easy narration
Audio stories daily
2-3 literacy games per week

Writing
Corresponding writing lesson from reading programme
2-3 writing activities/games per week (things like writing in shaving foam, chalkboard)

Math
Daily activity/game
Math stories
Math non-fiction books from library

Science
One unit per week comprising reading, researching, and 1-2 activities

Social Studies
2-3 activities from book per week
Reading, researching
Globe, atlas play

Religion
Daily Arabic work
One Qur’an verse per week
One religious lesson per week

Art
Daily art/craft activity, possibly linking it to science or social studies

Music
Daily exposure to classical music
Children’s songs and action rhymes
Playing with musical instruments

Physical Education
Daily outdoor play
Group sports activities
Swimming, rock climbing
Silly to Calm: Yoga for kids

General
Activities away from home

Games, puzzles, and mazes

Household chores

Imaginative play

Lots of free time to play!

Montessori activities
Baking/cooking

I’ve also gotten a lot of ideas on the World Book Encyclopedia Kindergarten Curriculum Guide which I plan to incorporate.

I think that’s a fair amount to be getting on with. Chances are I’ll change it somewhat. I want to do some perusing of others’ blogs, reread the Kindergarten/preschool section of The Well-Trained Mind, and have a look at a few things on-line before I print it all out. If you have any suggestions, please leave a comment! 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 29, 2008 in Kindergarten, Learning to Read

 

One response to “We’re Back

  1. michelle

    August 31, 2008 at 8:23 am

    Wow, what great books and plans. Makes me want my oldest to be kindergartener again. My baby will be a kindergartener this year, but unfortunately with 2 older sisters she doesn’t get many of her own kindergarteny activities, but just learns along with her sisters.

     

Leave a Reply

 
